Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Perfect! I do take them up to 248 degrees or so to get a chewier caramel. But these taste delicious no matter how gooey or sticky they are anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
For a first time caramel maker, this was pretty easy and good. I used this recipe for caramel apples so I only got it to about 236 F and then immediately took it off and added the vanilla. The only thing I will change next time is adding more salt, I like really salty, creamy caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittnisue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is the best caramel recipe I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I saw this and went straight and made it. Very easy and very good. Rich, good, great texture, good, so easy to make and did I mention good? !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delores J Ward

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Love this recipe, I too went higher (254 degrees for 2 minutes) and it came out perfect. I wanted to make square caramels that would hold their shape and these do. This was my first attempt at making caramel, I'm about to make a second batch now! Just sinful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
These caramels were easy and delicious -- I made them for gifts and they were perfect (except we almost ate them all before giving them away)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I just made this for the first time and it is so very good. The only adjustment I made was to the cooking temp. Caramel should be cooked to the firm ball state (248 degrees). Soft ball (240) would leave it to mushy and hard ball (260) to hard. Note too that you have to stir this CONTINUOUSLY from start to finish. I walked away for 30 seconds to get a drink before it had even reached a boil and it scorched just enough to leave some dark flecks in it (luckily I don't think it affected the flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I made this recipe a month ago w/o the corn syrup and it was so much more tastier than this time when I used only a half cup of corn syrup. I say ditch the corn syrup, its much better that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe to use for caramel apples. I've used it several times and always turns out great. You have to be extremely careful to watch towards the end because a few extra degrees can make for harder, darker caramel. I've made them for several people, and several people have said they were the best caramel apples they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was soooo good! I read through the reviews, and decided to use white sugar instead of brown. It taste's just like store bought caramels! Maybe even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States