Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Used to dip apples it was the best home made caramel i've ever had. Added a touch of baking soda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This is really good caramel!! First time making it and it came out DE-licious! Makes alot of it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Allenwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Delicious and easy! This was my first attempt at making caramel. My family and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevrlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Perfect! I do take them up to 248 degrees or so to get a chewier caramel. But these taste delicious no matter how gooey or sticky they are anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
For a first time caramel maker, this was pretty easy and good. I used this recipe for caramel apples so I only got it to about 236 F and then immediately took it off and added the vanilla. The only thing I will change next time is adding more salt, I like really salty, creamy caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittnisue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is the best caramel recipe I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I saw this and went straight and made it. Very easy and very good. Rich, good, great texture, good, so easy to make and did I mention good? !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Love this recipe, I too went higher (254 degrees for 2 minutes) and it came out perfect. I wanted to make square caramels that would hold their shape and these do. This was my first attempt at making caramel, I'm about to make a second batch now! Just sinful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
These caramels were easy and delicious -- I made them for gifts and they were perfect (except we almost ate them all before giving them away)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I just made this for the first time and it is so very good. The only adjustment I made was to the cooking temp. Caramel should be cooked to the firm ball state (248 degrees). Soft ball (240) would leave it to mushy and hard ball (260) to hard. Note too that you have to stir this CONTINUOUSLY from start to finish. I walked away for 30 seconds to get a drink before it had even reached a boil and it scorched just enough to leave some dark flecks in it (luckily I don't think it affected the flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States