Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This is not a chewy caramel its a creamy and soft caramel candy. It tastes wonderful and has a Very rich taste. Maybe if you boil it to a higher temp. such as 250 or more it may be chewy. I will put it over popcorn and it will be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I have made this recipe 5-6 times. Must cook to 248 to 250. I usually double, then brown sugar is a whole 2 lb bag, 1 16 oz bottle of corn syrup, no need to measure. I also add 2 tsp of vanilla rather than 1 1/2 tsp. Gets gobbled up at home, work, neighbors, wherever you bring them. Takes about 35 min on med-low heat and a strong arm for stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Very easy and delicious. Used this to make home made turtles. Better than the original ones. I used dark brown sugar for a more molasses taste. These are a huge hit at Christmas or anytime of year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
The first time I made this recipe, I let it cook for the 2 minutes once it reached 234 degrees. This made the caramel harder when cooled but becomes chewy once you put it in your mouth. The next time I removed it as soon as it hit 234 and it was chewy. I shared it at work and everyone loved it! If you cut but don't wrap it, it will all melt back together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I have tried sooo many different recipes. I am in love with these. Thank you for the tip about how to make them more chewy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
These we're my first attempt at candy making and I was very pleased. I ended up putting the caramel in the freezer before attempting to cut it up into bite sized pieces. I used wax paper for wrapping. Thank you for posting this recipe,absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rogers28
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This recipe has amazing flavor and was easy to make. However, it did NOT come out as caramel candies, despite the fact that I took the advice of others and heated it to 250*. We'll use it for a caramel sauce and call it good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Good easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cramer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This is my go to caramel! I love to cook it a touch longer and then coat apples with the sticky goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcarling

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
the only reason this recipe didn't get 5 stars is because I did something wrong. still tasted great but it came out lumpy. it wasn't gritty just lumpy... going to try it again later so if anyone has an idea of where I went wrong please let me know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Hughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States