Chewy Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I have been using this recipe for a long time. I can't remember where I first got it, but here it is. It is so good and everyone always loves it and asks for the recipe. It is VERY sweet so I only make it for company or if taking somewhere. Also, I cut into small squares, instead of bars since it is so sweet. FYI, this will not have the consistency of normal cake. It will be gooey inside and crusted top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
The kids loved this bar...not to mention they were bouncing off the walls on a sugar high for the rest of the day. I am curious, is the cream cheese layer suppose to be runny or set up more like a cheesecake consistency? Mine was runny and I'm wondering if I needed to bake it longer. The taste sure makes it worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Way too SWEET!!!!!!!!!!!! But the next time I changed the proportion of ingredients and it was really good. Here is my revised recipe: 1 package yellow cake mix. I use Duncan Hines Butter recipe. 1/2 cup butter,melted. 4 eggs. 8 oz cream cheese, softened. 3/4 cup powdered sugar. And this is not a mistake; only 3/4 cup. 1 tsp each vanilla and lemon flavoring. In a large mixing bowl, combine yellow cake mix, melted margarine, and 2 beaten eggs. Pour into a greased and floured 13"x9" cake pan. Please note that the cake mix mixture will have the consistency of a dough more so than a cake, so it will be kind of thick. You can use a spatula to spread it. In a blender or food processor, combine softened cream cheese, powdered sugar, 2 beaten eggs; vanilla/lemon .... flavorings (to taste). Pour over the cake mixture. Bake 40 to 45 minutes, or until golden. You can use a 13X9 pyrex or 2 squared foil pans (about 8x8) . You can also cut into small squares and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
My husband LOVED this! It's very good. It's fun to try different flavor combinations with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
This recipe is so easy to make and an excellent desert to bring to a potluck or social gathering. Very yummy, forget about dieting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Excellent & very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCNIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
OH THIS ONE IS IT, THE TASTE IS OUTSTANDING, VERY RICH BUT VERY GOOD, TYR IT YOU WILL LOVE IT GLENDA~TEXAS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
This was pretty good although it was more like a brownie than cake. Be sure to let this cool COMPLETELY before cutting or it appears to be gooey. Otherwise, it's great!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
Did I do something wrong? The cake was tasty,but the top had a crisp crust, and the center was too gooey. It had the consistency of uncooked cake batter. Yuck! I made it exactly as instructed, and baked it for the appropriate time. I had to throw it away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
We werent crazy about it ... maybe I did something wrong. It was ok, just not great. I think I would enjoy it more with a chocolate mix.. or maybe lemon??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States