Chewy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I followed the advise of another reviewer (Kandiee), and the brownies were just superb. It took longer for the center to bake completely, as a result I ended up with some not so chewy edges. Next time I will use foil to help keep the edges moist while the center bakes. They were super chewy!! For those reviewers getting a sugar film on top, I would recommend creaming the liquid ingredients together first, then add the sugar. THEN add flour, cocoa, etc. Make sure all the liquid ingredients are well creamed before adding the dry ing. The recipe adjustments I used: 1 c oil 3 eggs 3 Tbsp light corn syrup 1 tsp vanilla extract 1 1/2 c white sugar 1/2 c brown sugar 1/3 c baking cocoa 1 1/2 tsp salt 1 tsp baking powder 1 c chopped pecans Cream liquid ingredients together for 2-3 minutes until well mixed. Add sugars and mix for another 2-3 minutes until well mixed. Add flour, cocoa, baking powder and salt. Mix until batter is nice and smooth. Stir in pecans. Bake at 350 for 25-35 minutes. After 25 minutes, if center is still baking, wrap foil around edges (2" deep) to prevent drying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Chewy but not chocolatey... I followed the recipe but instead of nuts I added chocolate chips. Still searching for that #1 go to brownie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
So amazing!!!! Never going back to boxed brownie mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These are the BEST brownies ever. No more store bought or boxed for me. I took the advice of other reviewers and added 1 T more of corn syrup, and that's the only change. AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I think these are really super good brownies. I like the texture...not too cakey. Sprinkled a few chocolate chips over the top while they baked. A big hit in my house. I'll definitely be making them again. And again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I added the extra cocoa. We loved them! I did cook for the 40 min as well. We topped it with a cheesecake recipe we have as well. It was delicious and less than 24hrs. later they are all gone! I loved mix brownies but these were better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
BEYOND fabulous......in 3 wks, I've made them three times.....can't stop eating them!! Would give them 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Everyone devoured these! I followed the recipe except added 3/4 cup chocolate chips and they were fantastic. I used a glass 9X13 pan and they needed to be cooked for just about 40-45 minutes. I will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I've made these brownies twice and the first time I don't remember anything too exciting about them and so I made them again today and they were a little on the salty side and didn't have a very good flavor. 1 1/2 tsp. Of salt seemed like a tad too much for brownies but I followed the recipe anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovelykitchenlady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Fantastic with a bowl of ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States