Chewy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I cut the salt back to a half teaspoon and I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. I made no other changes or substitutions. I baked this in my Perfect Brownie Pan, baked at 350* this was done in 33 minutes. Though these brownies turned out exactly as the submitter stated (PERFECTLY chewy and just chocolate-y enough), I missed the flavor that butter gives to brownies. I will make thes again and use butter next time in place of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Thank you for the ratings, I am honored you chose my recipe to make. I did make a typo it should be 1/2 teaspoon not 11/2 t. Sorry ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mars, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I took note of the first reviewers comment on the salt. I dropped the salt to 1 teaspoon and I found it to be plenty - could probably drop it to 3/4 tsp w/ good results too. Instead of incorporating the walnuts into the batter I sprinkled them on top. When you mix the nuts into the batter they get steamed. By adding the nuts on top of the batter they will get toasted and give a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
These are the best brownies I have ever had, including fancy ones from coffee shops. Years from now, my children will not know to properly give you credit for this recipe. It will probably be the thing that they brag about me for, and the reason their schools make sure I always know about the bake sale. So, I thank you now. I also curse you, because I have diabetes and have had to exercise an unreasonable amount of willpower since making them. Don't worry, I am sharing!(I also skipped the glaze. I don't even want to KNOW how they taste with that.) Again, from the bottom of my vial of insulin, I thank you. Its not like I wouldn't have eaten a brownie, but it is nice when it is a brownie WORTH eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
These were just good enough. I prepared them in mini muffin pans with the intention of prettying them up with a rosette of vanilla buttercream frosting, festive Christmas sprinkles and a Hershey's mint truffle kiss. Good thing. On their own the brownies are fairly nondescript -more cake-like than chewy (reduce or eliminate the baking powder next time) and not deeply chocolate enough (next time substitute a couple of tablespoons of cocoa to replace same amount of flour and maybe add a teaspoon or two of espresso powder or instant coffee granules to intensify the chocolate flavor). This in spite of the fact I'm sure these were improved merely because I used (melted) butter instead of the vegetable oil. The frosting and mint truffle kiss gave the impression then, that these brownies were much better than they really were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I made these for my boys for an after school snack. I just used a pinch of salt and I used agave nectar instead of the corn syrup (b/c that's what I had on hand). The kids called them "BEAST!"......that's good! :) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
These were AWESOME! I cut recipe in half, used 1/2 c. of cocoa, cut salt to 1/2 teaspoon and added a 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda. Baked for only 25 minutes in a 8x8 glass pan and they turned out perfectly - exactly as promised - slightly crisp edges and chewy middles. I did not bother to frost; they smelled so good, I had to sample after they cooled slightly. HEAVENLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
AWESOME! officially my permanent brownie recipe. Very chewy/gooey. Well done, Tom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
the texture was waaaay too cake like when i see chewy i think moist not dry flavor not terrible but if you want moist look elsewhere if you want cakelike this is for you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I used self rising flour instead of all purpose so I eliminated the salt and baking powder. Recipe is exactly as titled, Chewy. Even the edges that are usually hard, were perfect. I didn't add the icing either because the brownies are perfect without it. I have saved this and will use it from now on. My family and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Blonde Brownies I

This chewy "blondie" is still plenty chocolatey, thanks to the chips on top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States