Chewy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
These were just good enough. I prepared them in mini muffin pans with the intention of prettying them up with a rosette of vanilla buttercream frosting, festive Christmas sprinkles and a Hershey's mint truffle kiss. Good thing. On their own the brownies are fairly nondescript -more cake-like than chewy (reduce or eliminate the baking powder next time) and not deeply chocolate enough (next time substitute a couple of tablespoons of cocoa to replace same amount of flour and maybe add a teaspoon or two of espresso powder or instant coffee granules to intensify the chocolate flavor). This in spite of the fact I'm sure these were improved merely because I used (melted) butter instead of the vegetable oil. The frosting and mint truffle kiss gave the impression then, that these brownies were much better than they really were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
These brownies were awesome! My friend and I made "Yummy Bars" With brownies on the bottom, Oreo in the middle, and cookies on the top. We didn't try the drizzle though. We thought it would be horrible on top of the cookies. They turned out fantastical
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
These are delicious! I marbled them with the cream cheese, egg and sugar from the Marbled Brownie recipe and they are very tasty that way, also. They do have a lovely crisp crust and chewy interior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I ran out of brownie mix and didn't have time to go to the grocery store. I knew I had the ingredients to make some from scratch and after reviewing many recipes I went with this one. I love it! It was super easy and cutting them was a breeze. I usually have to refrigerate my brownies in order to get clean cuts but these didn't need that at all. I think I'll pick up some mason jars or gallon size bags and mix up the dry ingredients to keep on hand when I need to make brownies rather than buying boxes to keep on hand. Really nice recipe! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
TNT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This recipe is great! It doesn't taste like chocolate cake like so many other brownie recipies. It's for sure the best brownies I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Super Chewy! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
LOVE THEM. My son And I Have Been Really Disappointed In Box Brownie Lately. The Have Cut The.Mix In The Box And You Get Super Thin Brownies. These Have Super Texture And Just The Right Chocolate Flavor. Never Making Boxed Brownies Again. I Will Note That I Did Only Use 1.5 Cups Of Sugar As I Tend To Like Things A Tad Less Sweet. It Was Perfect For Us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acejarvis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This has become my go to brownie recipe for about a year... Everyone loves them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quinnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I loved it i took it to school for my birthday and i still haven't told them my secret or given them this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Blonde Brownies I

This chewy "blondie" is still plenty chocolatey, thanks to the chips on top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States