Chewy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I have read the previous reviews and disagree that these brownies are chewy. They are more like a light-chocolate cake with walnuts. I have not been able to find a brownie recipe that can compare to the box kind. If anyone knows of one, please post it, in the meantime, I'll just keep buying the DH brand since it's the best. I enjoy reading the reviews and am always amused that people take a recipe and add/subract ingredients to make their own recipe - why not just enter your own recipe in the first place?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was a great recipe. Just the way a brownie should be - Dense, and chewy. I did add just a bit more cocoa powder to make it more chocolatey, and I also added about a tablespoon of instant coffee powder because I find that it really brings out the chocolate flavour. But overall this was the best brownie recipe that I have found. Too many recipes make cake-like squares, and these were definitely not that. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
AWESOME! Kids and Husband LOVED these; made exactly as written except I did not use the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Ok I made them with the oil and honestly I didn't love the flavor., it was as though I could taste the oil. I'd like to re-do them with butter instead to see if it helps. The texture was exactly what I wanted though, so that was a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dei

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I will never make another brownie recipe again!!! I bake nut-free and this is awesome. I get requests for it all the time. So quick and easy to make, I'm not sure why I was so scared to make something not from a box lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jmmom2
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This recipe was easy to make and helped me out in a jiffy when our first batch of frozen brownies went bad. I was able to quickly whip these up. The claim is true, chewy and crispy along the edge. More cake like but not a dry cakey batter, it was moist. I used agave syrup instead of corn syrup. I added peanut butter chips and semi sweet chips to kick it up a notch. The taste is very similar to warm chocolate chip chewy bars. I'm thinking I'll melt in the semi sweet chips with the batter for more chocolate taste. Overall they were a hit. Bakes beautifully. And it was my first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmmom2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made some adjustments and they turned out marvelous! I used 1.5c white sugar and .5 c brown sugar. And I also used 1stick of unsalted butter along with 1/2 of a cup of oil. And I added 1/2 c dark choc chips and 1/2 c of marshmallows because i don't care for nuts. They were moist and chewy and a little crusty on the edges! Thanks for a great start for my new brownie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Moist and yummy! I added semi-sweet and white chocolate chips because I can't resist adding those to every dessert I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Hendrickson
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
These brownies delivered on being moist and chewy, but didn't have the deep chocolate flavor I was hoping for. I replaced 1/2 c oil with 1/2 c melted butter and added 1/2 tsp instant espresso to accentuate the chocolate, but still felt the recipe needs more kick. I will definitely make these again but may add some melted semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate to the wet ingredients to give them more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Reduced salt to 1/2 tsp. Used all room temperature ingredients, and my 13x9 pan was done at 22 minutes. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Blonde Brownies I

This chewy "blondie" is still plenty chocolatey, thanks to the chips on top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States