Chewy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
These are super good. I used shortening instead of vegetable oil, as that is what I had in the house. I needed to bake them for 40 minutes but that may be due to high altitude. I didn't make the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
YUUUUUUMMY! I promptly saved it to my recipe list! Made exactly as written except that I halved the recipe since it was just my husband and i eating them. Chewy crispy yummy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lkrainey
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! I used both vanilla and Carmel extract and added chocolate chips!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
These brownies were bland, floury, and more like cake than a brownie. I had such high hopes but alas, the search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I love fudgy, chewy brownies but also love the crispy edges just as much... and these hit the mark. After reading other reviews, I used 1/2 cup melted butter and 1/2 cup oil, 1 cup flour and a little more cocoa powder than called for. I won't be using boxed brownie mixes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
it is a very good recipe will be using it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
These were just good enough. I prepared them in mini muffin pans with the intention of prettying them up with a rosette of vanilla buttercream frosting, festive Christmas sprinkles and a Hershey's mint truffle kiss. Good thing. On their own the brownies are fairly nondescript -more cake-like than chewy (reduce or eliminate the baking powder next time) and not deeply chocolate enough (next time substitute a couple of tablespoons of cocoa to replace same amount of flour and maybe add a teaspoon or two of espresso powder or instant coffee granules to intensify the chocolate flavor). This in spite of the fact I'm sure these were improved merely because I used (melted) butter instead of the vegetable oil. The frosting and mint truffle kiss gave the impression then, that these brownies were much better than they really were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
These brownies were awesome! My friend and I made "Yummy Bars" With brownies on the bottom, Oreo in the middle, and cookies on the top. We didn't try the drizzle though. We thought it would be horrible on top of the cookies. They turned out fantastical
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
These are delicious! I marbled them with the cream cheese, egg and sugar from the Marbled Brownie recipe and they are very tasty that way, also. They do have a lovely crisp crust and chewy interior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I ran out of brownie mix and didn't have time to go to the grocery store. I knew I had the ingredients to make some from scratch and after reviewing many recipes I went with this one. I love it! It was super easy and cutting them was a breeze. I usually have to refrigerate my brownies in order to get clean cuts but these didn't need that at all. I think I'll pick up some mason jars or gallon size bags and mix up the dry ingredients to keep on hand when I need to make brownies rather than buying boxes to keep on hand. Really nice recipe! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States