Chewy Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Excellent! I halved the salt as others suggested, and did not make the glaze (as I like brownies without icing). These were so delicious! Perfectly cakey and fudgy at the same time and the crunchy edges were yummy too. To top it off, this was one of the easiest brownie recipes ever. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
These were AWESOME! I cut recipe in half, used 1/2 c. of cocoa, cut salt to 1/2 teaspoon and added a 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda. Baked for only 25 minutes in a 8x8 glass pan and they turned out perfectly - exactly as promised - slightly crisp edges and chewy middles. I did not bother to frost; they smelled so good, I had to sample after they cooled slightly. HEAVENLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I made these for my boys for an after school snack. I just used a pinch of salt and I used agave nectar instead of the corn syrup (b/c that's what I had on hand). The kids called them "BEAST!"......that's good! :) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
These turned out just as described, "chewy in the middle and crisp on the outside edges." If you love chewey brownies these are for you! I HATE cake brownies so these were perfect for me. They compare quite nicely to box brownies, which from me is a compliment. I like to make things homemade though so this is my go to recipe for now! Oh the one change I did make was to drop the salt to 1/2 tsp. If you read the reviews you'll see the submitter said that 1 1/2 was a typo. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara Broderick-Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Once the salt is reduced (maybe that was a typo?), these brownies are awesome! It's hard to find a brownie recipe that uses cocoa powder that's not too cakey. These were perfectly chewy and delicious! You could do any kind of nuts or none at all, mint extract, chocolate chips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I took note of the first reviewers comment on the salt. I dropped the salt to 1 teaspoon and I found it to be plenty - could probably drop it to 3/4 tsp w/ good results too. Instead of incorporating the walnuts into the batter I sprinkled them on top. When you mix the nuts into the batter they get steamed. By adding the nuts on top of the batter they will get toasted and give a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I used self rising flour instead of all purpose so I eliminated the salt and baking powder. Recipe is exactly as titled, Chewy. Even the edges that are usually hard, were perfect. I didn't add the icing either because the brownies are perfect without it. I have saved this and will use it from now on. My family and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Thank you for the ratings, I am honored you chose my recipe to make. I did make a typo it should be 1/2 teaspoon not 11/2 t. Sorry ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mars, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
AWESOME! officially my permanent brownie recipe. Very chewy/gooey. Well done, Tom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
These were delicious. Great LOW SODIUM option- Use 3/4 t of salt and No Salt Baking Powder. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

MMMMM... Brownies

These chocolate brownies from scratch are easy, moist, and delicious.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Blonde Brownies I

This chewy "blondie" is still plenty chocolatey, thanks to the chips on top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States