Chewy Brownie Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I made these for a cookie exchange at work and my coworkers really liked them. I really didn't care for them. They didn't really taste like brownies the way I like my brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
these cookies were lovely.. my hubby loved them ..infact he said it tasted better the next day.. it was tooo swt & chocolatey for me.. so will jst reduce the chocolate chips & sugar ..will definitely make them again wit diff variations suggested by some reviewers..eg peanut butter..d cookies were not done after 9 mins & cooling them ..they didnt harden so had to put them in d oven again for another 5 mins .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Good, though I probably won't make them again. I used butter instead of shortening and omitted the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I left out the nuts- we don't like them in cookies. I made half into cookies and the other half in a mini muffin pan. The mini muffins turned out great. I topped them with rich chocolate frosting from this site. They were very rich but very delicious. The cookies on their own also had great flavor but didn't stand a chance next to the frosting topped 'brownie muffins'. The muffins were kind of hard to get out of the pan (sprayed generously with Pam). I think if you let them cool for at least 25 minutes or so they would be easier to get out. Will make again and try some of the muffin ones with marsh cream and a drizzle of fudge and caramel as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
LOVED these! Next time I will be adding white chocolate chips though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyTiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I didn't like these straight out of the oven; they were too chocolatey. But the next day I enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Delicious and very easy to make. My 12y/o made them with only a little coaching from me. She did need help stirring once most of the chips were added. We followed the recipe except we substituted white chocolate chips for the nuts and cut back on the chocolate chips to 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Very good, even with substitutions! I used all applesauce for the shortening, a little less brown sugar, ground flax seed instead of eggs, 1/2 cup of cocoa and no nuts. I made them in mini muffins tins- they baked in 10 minutes at 350 degrees. Nice and chocolatey, soft inside and a little crispy outside. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
OMGosh! I love these. Whenever I get a craving for a brownie, these suffice. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisa, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Loved these! I followed the recipe exactly for the first batch, but used butter instead of shortening. They came out flatter than I wanted, but were perfect for ice cream sandwiches. The second time I made these, I still used butter...then omitted the water and used baking powder instead of baking soda... they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States