Chewy Brownie Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
These were fantastic the way I made them. I substituted the shortening with a cube of butter and about a tablespoon or 2 of shortening (I like the flavor of butter, so I didn't want too much shortening…). I also sifted the dry ingredients. I baked them for 8 minutes. They were fantastic! I mean, they really are a brownie cookie. The centers were filled with melted chocolate chunks and gooey batter, while the outside was rounded, crisp. Definitely recommend these if you want to get away from the traditional chocolate chip cookie or brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I have tried this recipe several times and it always take so flavorful and chewy and I will keep making this recipe again and I like the fact that a brownie can made into a cookie LoL! It is so moist and chewy you can't go wrong with these cookies and everyone will always come to love them as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I just made these for a present but I think I'll just make another batch as a present because they are SO GOOD!!!!! Very chocolaty, moist and if you eat them a little warm it's like OMG, heaven! I just used butter and followed the rest of the recipe and they turned out great. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
These are Perfect!!!! I've searched for so long for a perfect brownie cookie and have failed several times. This recipe is exactly what I've been looking for! Chewy, chocolately, slightly crisp bottom. Perfect! Don't change a single thing! I used dark cocoa powder and m&ms because that's what I had on hand and they were so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlondeMom87

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I made it with peppermint extract and it is just as delicious made that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chautauqua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Great recipe! I used mini chocolate chips and baked on parchment paper for 10 minutes at 375. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I loved these!! My husband thought they were too "chewy" but he prefers a crispy cookie. I did add a touch of cream to the batter because I thought it was a bit too thick, so maybe that's why they were too soft for him. I'm not a huge chocolate fan, but I do love soft cookies. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Good. 2nd batch, I used butter instead of shortening and used 1/2 cup of cocoa and no chocolate chips. Much better. Update: dried out rather quickly, then became rather average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. But to be fair, I used butter instead of shortening. Even though I added a bit extra flour, these still were incredibly "wet". I used butterscotch chips and only used probably half as many as the recipe called for. The cookie itself tasted much like hot chocolate. Not great. The major problem was that they flattened out and even at 375, which is higher than most, it didn't set up in the center. I froze the majority of the dough and will more than likely lower the oven temp and cook it for a greater amount of time when I get around to baking these.. which won't be for a while since they don't taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Awesome recipe. I did little adjustments. I used 1 cup of ap flour and the other half cup of bread flour. And 1 cup of brown sugar & half cup of Splenda. Used 1 cup of white chocolate chip cause it was the only chips I had in my pantry. Oh and 3/8 tsp of salt. Next time I'll do 1/4 tsp of salt and leave out the chips cause I just wanted chewy cookies, nothing too sweet. These cookies were sweet enough. My cookies weren't entirely chewy, it was chewy on the outside and soft almost like cake on the inside. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States