Chewiest Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very fudgy and rich. A few drawbacks: bakes into a thin brownie and if you cook it even two or three minutes too long, the top and edges become very dry and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Okay, I have now found the best ever brownie recipe. This brownie is very, very chocolaty, and has the texture I've always been looking for, CHEWIE! I've always preferred the edges and this came out like one big edge yet not burned or over done. I only made half a batch to try and baked it in an 8x8 pan. I did add 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/3 cup walnuts per half batch. Everything else was done exactly like the recipe. I will never use another brownie recipe. Thank you so much for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is the recipe I've been looking for! Fudgy, not cakey brownies that don't use chocolate syrup. I will definitely be using this as my go-to brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Just like others, I changed the recipe a tad to get the texture to match the taste. Reduced cocoa (organic pure dark) to 3/4 cup and sugar to 1.5 cups. Also added 1/4 cup oil for texture and vanilla pure paste vice extract for smoother taste. Using the parchment brushed with melted butter certainly does prevent this from sticking, which it absolutely will otherwise. It isn't really chewy while it is still hot, but once it cools it becomes much moreso. Very tasty, very rich and just perfect when the craving hits you for chocolate brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristyACB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
pretty good. I actually only tried these for a Home Ec Class at first, but now i make them at home all the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Not bad at all :) I did change this recipe a bit, went with 3/4 cups cocoa and 1/4 cup vegetable oil. Also reduced sugar to 1 cup and added half a cup of splenda (I'm diabetic but it's so hard to find a decent brownie recipe that doesn't have sugar so generally I just reduce) Creamed the butter and beat in the sugar/splenda until it was fluffy, gradually added the flour, beating after each addition then added the cocoa, alternating with the oil. I think the splenda made the batter a little easier to work with, it wasn't as sticky or hard to spread that other reviews have suggested. Lined the pan with parchment paper (made it ~so~ much easier to lift out of the pan!) baked for time suggested. They came out quite nice, very chocolatey, very chewy, didn't have that nice crispy top that I like but I would still definetly make these again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by There's Lovin' in the oven ^_^

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I used the adapted recipe suggested in the comments and was so impressed! I have made a ton of brownies before, but these were the best I've had in a long time if not ever! Thanks for the comments and recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
REALLY GOOD!! Chewy and all. Last time I made some the ends were a bit dry but I spread it a bit too much(thinned) and my non-stick pan is too big for the recipe(I didn't have enough butter to double it...). I'm making another batch right now and I'm going to add a couple of chocolate chips on them for a simple chocolate frosting. My boyfriend loves them(and he's pretty picky! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thormeena

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Very good brownie... Per other reviewers I used 1 1/2 cups sugar and 1/2 cup cocoa powder. They are very chewy and yummy. Another great thing about them is that they are low in calories and you cannot even tell. I have made other low fat brownie recipes and you can look at them and thell they are low fat, they also taste low fat. This is NOT the case with these, I will keep this recipe in my favorites pile..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and these did not turn out very good. They were way to sweet and had a grainy texture. Not sure if I did something wrong or what but they were not very good. Really just felt like they were missing something. Maybe I'll try again with the alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemy2boys09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clayton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Vegan Brownies

A great chocolate dessert for people who avoid dairy and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States