Chewiest Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
OMG! This is the best brownies I've tried so far. Even better than the 5 star scrumptious fudgy brownie recipe in this site. I followed reviews from others though, 3/4 cup butter, 3/4 cup cocoa (i used hershey's), and 1 1/2 cup sugar.Yes, this brownies baked thin. I greased the pan with some vege oil, line with parchment and greased the parchment as well. Brownies can be taken out of the pan this way. YUMMM!!!! ..now i'm scared of too much chocolate in my diet!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by o.d

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I made this exactly as instructed and I wouldn't change a thing. I line the pan with wax paper and place the brownie on a countertop after cooling about 20 minutes. A long thin knife will separate the brownie from the wax paper. Don't even try to lift the brownie out of the pan. It won't work. Extremely chocolaty, very dense, rich and gooey- just like I like them. Not anything like a boxed recipe though those are good too. I did add one extra egg since mine tend to be small (fresh farm eggs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
awesome...only used 1-1/2 cups sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Very very rich and chocolate like, reminded me of a brownie you get as a sundae in a restaurant. I added some chocolate chips and pecans to mine, I couldn't find any walnuts. I shorten my cooking time sometimes to 20mins instead of 30. Once cooled they harden nicely and all it takes is 20seconds in the microwave to make them warm and lovely again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Very chocolatey and moist! However, I felt the texture resembled that of a cake's, despite the description. Perhaphs I have to chill the brownie first (I ate it right out of the oven :)Overall, pretty delicious, moist, full of flavour, QUICK AND EASY, will defintely make again! My variations: reduced sugar to 1 cup (it was sweet enough like that), reduced cocoa powder to 3/4 cup, added 1/4 cup oil, did not have to use milk. Variations to method, as per a fellow reviewer's suggestions, mix melted butter, sugar, vanilla, and eggs. Mix till the mixture just very very slightly pulls away from sides. In seperate bowl, mix reminaing dry ingredients. Mix both together. I felt that with these modifications, the batter was of a good consistency and baked up well. Also, to ensure brownie rises and does not end up so thin, leave battter in mixing bowl for about 10 mins before baking. Mine rose like muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I also took the suggestions of other reviewers (1 1/2 cups of sugar and 3/4 cocoa) and they were pretty good!! My boyfriend loved them and I couldn't resist them warmed up with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This recipe is terrific! I've made these several times now, and have never had any issues, though I've noticed that some other people have had some trouble! Here are some helpful suggestions: 1. If you used Splenda or reduced the amount of sugar, the texture will absolutely be dry/hard. The sugar needs to melt to contribute to the moistness of these brownies. 2. If your brownies were grainy, your oven temperature might be off. Most are! Try baking these again at 325 instead. 3. If your brownies tasted too much like cocoa powder, it could be because there were chunks of cocoa powder in your mix. Cocoa powder tends to clump. Sift it and combine all dry ingredients together before adding the wet ingredients. 4. If these weren't cakey enough for you... its because this isn't a "cakey" brownie recipe! There are no leavening ingredients to give you a "fluffy" texture. You're going to get a dense, chewy brownie because that is what this recipe was designed to give you. Great recipe, and if followed properly will give you some great brownies. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Very fudgy and rich. A few drawbacks: bakes into a thin brownie and if you cook it even two or three minutes too long, the top and edges become very dry and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Okay, I have now found the best ever brownie recipe. This brownie is very, very chocolaty, and has the texture I've always been looking for, CHEWIE! I've always preferred the edges and this came out like one big edge yet not burned or over done. I only made half a batch to try and baked it in an 8x8 pan. I did add 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/3 cup walnuts per half batch. Everything else was done exactly like the recipe. I will never use another brownie recipe. Thank you so much for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This is the recipe I've been looking for! Fudgy, not cakey brownies that don't use chocolate syrup. I will definitely be using this as my go-to brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States