Chestnut Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hildamae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indian Head, Maryland, USA
Living In: Galax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Awesome! I used half butter half oil, roasted chestnuts, and one loaf of unsalted tuscan-style bread. I was thinking "wow that's a lot of oil" but worked out fine. Will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by beth
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I used half the amount of bread and everything else the same (per other reviewer suggestions) and it was perfect! I used half a loaf of dark swirl bread and baked a tube of buttermilk biscuits and crumbled those together. I will make this again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This was fantastic! Probably the star of our Thanksgiving table. I did use a full 2 pounds of bread, but it wasn't just plain old bread - it was an artisan country white. I cubed and dried the bread overnight. Also, i added a full cup of chicken stock because it really was dry, plus dashes of rosemary, thyme, sage, extra salt and pepper on top of the poultry seasoning. I sort of wondered if the eggs were really necessary at that point, they just sort of settled on the bottom and cooked. They didn't distract, but i can't say they added anything either. Probably next time i won't use them since i added the stock. Still, even with all the changes, this is a wonderful recipe that will be making an appearance at our holiday table for many years to come! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Sounds very similar to my nona's recipe but I notice the directions say to cook it in its own pan and I wonder, has anyone cooked it in the bird?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this on Christmas; everyone loved it but myself, the one who made it, HATED it which is why I only give it 3 stars. Here's some hints: use 1 1pound loaf of bread, any more and it will be way too dry. Grease the baking dish before putting in ingredients. Add more than just onions as it tends to be bland. Under cook your chestnuts, overcook them and they turn out mushy. Use 1/3 cup of milk, more than just 1/4 cup, otherwise it won't be moist enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My first attempt at stuffing, and it was a awesome! After stuffing the turkey with it, I realized I'd forgotten the eggs and milk step. Had more stuffing that the 18lb turkey could take, so baked the remainder. Both came out delicious, with the stuffed being more moist and the baked more firm but not dry. One problem I did have was that many of the chestnuts were moldy and/or black, so actually ended up with less than the recipe called for. Next time, I'll buy more nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misslondon
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
this was just wonderful, I had the family all over yesterday for Christmas, everyone commented on this wonderful stuffing, but I made slight changes, I added one loaf NOT 2, and added 4 eggs with 1/2 cup of milk. it was rich and elegant. Im turning 25 next month, and this was the first Christmas dinner I cook, im defiantly gona make this stuffing every Christmas, it made4 my evening last night, so thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslondon
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Only used 1 loaf of bread. Added 1 tsp. of each: marjoram, rosemary, thyme and sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Yummy! I added fresh sage and rosemary as well as celery and roasted my chestnuts on the fire, I also used butter instead of margerine. It was just perfect! I will make this every year! Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mooresville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States