Chestnut Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
We use this recipe repeatedly at holiday gatherings. Every year there is a tweak to the recipe depending on who makes it. Most omit the sugar because we have diabetics in the family. We also add our favorite BBQ sauce and place them in the crock pot to stay warm. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Lange Rolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Huge hit! and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Didn't try it, because I was looking for actual chestnut recipe, and this seems to be WATER chestnuts. I rated 4 because that is currently the average rating and I didn't want to impact scoring. Can recipe title be corrected? If I find myself with spare water chestnuts, i will come back to it though. I'm just adding this 'review' so no one else goes through reading all reviews before figuring out it's ONLY with water chestnuts. No one seems to have tried with real chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This is a great recipe, known as Rumaki. I've made this before and gotten rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sileste
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Aweome!! Greasy but GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Try wrapping the bacon and chestnuts, baking, draining and then dip in barbeque sauce. Less greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I make this all the time with just a little change. I find the brown sugar too sweet. So I just soak the chestnuts in the soy sauce and then wrap and cook. I lower the temperature to 375 and cook a little longer approx. 25 min. I find with the lower temperature the waterchestnut is cooked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Shepherd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Great recipe, very tasty! One point - finding that a lower temperature over a longer period works better, as they're burning a bit while the chestnuts are still hard in the centre at such a high temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Liked these, but they really MUST be eaten right away or the chestnuts get too mealy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I have been making these for years!!! They are awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

King Crab Appetizers

See how to make a supreme appetizer!

Easy Appetizers

Lots of little bites add up to big fun and a stress-free party.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States