Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
It turned out great! My husband loved it! I have to admit I was a little worried at first about the pie setting but it did after 1 hour and 15 minutes and cooling in the oven. I also changed somethings in the recipe as well. I used almond milk as a milk substitute , 1.5 cups of sugar instead of 2, 3 eggs instead of 4, and apple cider vinegar since I didn't have any white vinegar. After a hour and 15 minutes I cut the stove off and aloud it cool inside and out came a wonderful chest pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made this for work for a themed party. It was well received. :) The flavour of this pie is nice but my favourite part has to be the 'burned' flaky top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This was runny and overly sweet. I would suggest reducing the sugar and increasing the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I rarely have disasters in baking....this was one. A beautiful crust formed, but a pool of "chess pie" below. I even baked an extra 20 minutes. Something is missing in the recipe which does not allow for setting. Will search for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it set properly but there was entirely too much sugar. I would scale back the sugar by at least 1/2 cup. I did't need the extra time in the oven as suggested by other reviewers. I wanted to taste the other ingredients more, though. The sugar content was very over-powering. It may need a 1/4 teaspoon of salt as well if you use unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I've loved Chess pies since I first had one when I moved to Nashville, and I've made many of them following a great New York Times cookbook recipe (with lemon rather than vinegar), but I couldn't find the cookbook so I grabbed this recipe. My biggest complaint with this recipe (and I should have known better) is that it understates the amount of time, and the importance, of making sure that you cook the pie long enough so that it sets -- 50, 60, 70, 80 -- whatever it takes, it has to set, otherwise, it's ruined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is the best chess pie recipe I have found! It's exactly like my grandmas and it's heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie Madore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Easy and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bradon Cohorn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I've tried this and it was amazing! It's the favorite dessert for the holidays in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Very simple to make..... had fun making this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States