Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is the pie of my childhood. One bite and I was back at my grandmother's table...what a memory it was. I prepared the recipe as written, with the exception of pre-heating to 450 degrees and then lowering the temperature when placing the pie in the oven. Next time I will add some coconut. Thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I'v made this recipe twice and couldnt get the filling to set-up. The first one was awful, the second time I substituted the heavy cream and preheated to 450 and cooked at 350, it was better, but still not done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gunman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
My husband thought this pie was absolutely wonderful! Even I thought it was good and I don't like custard. Very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This has become my tried and true chess pie recipe. It is by far one of my childhood favorites. I have a 10-inch pie plate that I use so when I make it I sometimes double the filling. This is a simple can not fail recipe comes out perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Everyone loved it. I used heavy cream instead of the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Nice pie, everything turned out perfectly. However, it was very sweet. Perhaps, I was looking for more of a custard type of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is a very good Chess pie recipe, but I did modify it to resemble the pies of my youth. I have never heard of using evaporated milk, so I substituted buttermilk instead, and I also used 1 C white sugar, 1 C brown sugar to cut down on the sweetness. I did follow the advice of some of the other reviewers to guarantee my pie filling set up nicely. I heated the oven to 450 F and once I put the pie in, immediately lowered it to 350 F. I ended up cooking mine for 50 minutes and left the pie in the oven the entire time it was cooling down. Afterwards, I put it in the fridge for 15 minutes, and it turned out the perfect consistency. Since this pie has to cook for so long, I would recommend putting tinfoil over the exposed crust, unless you like the edges browned. My husband prefers browned crust, so I just brush mine with half-and-half before cooking and leave them uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was excellent! The whole family has been craving it every since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
My fiancee asked me to make a chess pie for his office potluck and not only did I not know how to make it, I never even heard of it! I decided to look it up here and found this recipe, and I am glad I did! It turned out great! I made enough for 2 pies. I did modify with buttermilk instead of evap. milk and half brown sugar/half white. The rest I followed exactly and it was delicious. I was scared it would be firm enough like some other users said, but I left it in the oven until it was cool and it had a great texture! 5 stars!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
FABULOUS! Make sure you have a deep dish crust...mine made too much filling for my crust, so I added a handful of coconut to it and made a second pie...both were fabulous. This is for people with a real love of sugary sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States