Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I'v made this recipe twice and couldnt get the filling to set-up. The first one was awful, the second time I substituted the heavy cream and preheated to 450 and cooked at 350, it was better, but still not done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gunman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
My husband thought this pie was absolutely wonderful! Even I thought it was good and I don't like custard. Very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This has become my tried and true chess pie recipe. It is by far one of my childhood favorites. I have a 10-inch pie plate that I use so when I make it I sometimes double the filling. This is a simple can not fail recipe comes out perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Everyone loved it. I used heavy cream instead of the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Nice pie, everything turned out perfectly. However, it was very sweet. Perhaps, I was looking for more of a custard type of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This is a very good Chess pie recipe, but I did modify it to resemble the pies of my youth. I have never heard of using evaporated milk, so I substituted buttermilk instead, and I also used 1 C white sugar, 1 C brown sugar to cut down on the sweetness. I did follow the advice of some of the other reviewers to guarantee my pie filling set up nicely. I heated the oven to 450 F and once I put the pie in, immediately lowered it to 350 F. I ended up cooking mine for 50 minutes and left the pie in the oven the entire time it was cooling down. Afterwards, I put it in the fridge for 15 minutes, and it turned out the perfect consistency. Since this pie has to cook for so long, I would recommend putting tinfoil over the exposed crust, unless you like the edges browned. My husband prefers browned crust, so I just brush mine with half-and-half before cooking and leave them uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was excellent! The whole family has been craving it every since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
My fiancee asked me to make a chess pie for his office potluck and not only did I not know how to make it, I never even heard of it! I decided to look it up here and found this recipe, and I am glad I did! It turned out great! I made enough for 2 pies. I did modify with buttermilk instead of evap. milk and half brown sugar/half white. The rest I followed exactly and it was delicious. I was scared it would be firm enough like some other users said, but I left it in the oven until it was cool and it had a great texture! 5 stars!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
FABULOUS! Make sure you have a deep dish crust...mine made too much filling for my crust, so I added a handful of coconut to it and made a second pie...both were fabulous. This is for people with a real love of sugary sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States