Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This pie was delicious. I an not from the south and had never heard of chess pie before. I have hens and lots of eggs so I was looking for new recipes that call for eggs. I added 1 cup of sweetened shredded coconut (I'm from Hawaii) and cut the sugar to 1-2/3 cup. I also baked it at 350 for about 50 minutes as I do pumpkin pie. It was beautifully browned and perfectly set. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Doubled recipe and used two 9-inch stote bought pie crust. Too much mix for crust so put remainder in baking cup. Pies ran over, fortunately on cookie sheets beneath them. Pies very brown. Tasted pie from baking cup and it is very good! Tlclady
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Dangerously delicious. Very rich, sweet, and decadent. If you're eat pie, this is the one to splurge on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My husband, who will only eat chocolate cake and chocolate chip cookies, thought this pie was good. WHAT??!!! So, I gave it a five. I will make this again without the cornmeal in it. My kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Just thought I would add my two cents..... NO..... the top of your pie should not be burnt..... it should however be brown NOT BURNT....so please don't be mislead by people telling you that it should be "BURNT" Great recipe otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
First off the recipe needs to be tweaked for time. I had to cook for an additional 30 mins @ 325 ( in a toaster oven) to get the pie to set after I brought the pie to a function and then realized it was liquid. Also I could taste the eggs. It was like flan or some type of custard. I am going to try a few more times after i tweek the recipe. [UPDATE] I tried the recipe again I did 1-1/2 cups of white sugar, 1/2 cup light brown sugar, 1/4 cup of dark corn syrup and then followed the recipe and added 30 mins at 300 degrees. This pie was fantastic, a nice constistancy. The next day I tried it again with the same time and temp but I omitted the corn syrup and did 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup light brown sugar. The result was a pie that had an over powering taste of egg. I am wondering if the order that I am combining ingredients account for the egg taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I am rating this according to my (new )husband. When he told me he wanted a Chess pie I knew I had big shoes to fill because he bragged on his first wife's pie making skills. I was nervous about making this pie because I have NEVER made a chess pie before..after 1 slice he said it was the best he has ever eaten. It was not runny or grainy, it was perfect!!!! Thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fountain Run, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Followed the reviews, but it still came out soupy. Incredibly sweet, actually way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I wish I knew what I did wrong with this pie. I've tried it twice, and both times bombed by having a beautiful crust only to discover a chess "pond" below. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. Since that didn't work, I tried some of the previous cooks' suggestions and added cooking time and left the pie in the oven while it cooled down. Both results were the same. The flavor is exactly what I'm looking for, but I just can't get it to set. I'm an old-fashioned southern girl from Tennessee who knows her chess pies and has worked in bakeries, so why is it that I can make a three-tiered wedding cake, but can't get this pie to set?! ha ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States