Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My husband, who will only eat chocolate cake and chocolate chip cookies, thought this pie was good. WHAT??!!! So, I gave it a five. I will make this again without the cornmeal in it. My kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Just thought I would add my two cents..... NO..... the top of your pie should not be burnt..... it should however be brown NOT BURNT....so please don't be mislead by people telling you that it should be "BURNT" Great recipe otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
First off the recipe needs to be tweaked for time. I had to cook for an additional 30 mins @ 325 ( in a toaster oven) to get the pie to set after I brought the pie to a function and then realized it was liquid. Also I could taste the eggs. It was like flan or some type of custard. I am going to try a few more times after i tweek the recipe. [UPDATE] I tried the recipe again I did 1-1/2 cups of white sugar, 1/2 cup light brown sugar, 1/4 cup of dark corn syrup and then followed the recipe and added 30 mins at 300 degrees. This pie was fantastic, a nice constistancy. The next day I tried it again with the same time and temp but I omitted the corn syrup and did 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup light brown sugar. The result was a pie that had an over powering taste of egg. I am wondering if the order that I am combining ingredients account for the egg taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I am rating this according to my (new )husband. When he told me he wanted a Chess pie I knew I had big shoes to fill because he bragged on his first wife's pie making skills. I was nervous about making this pie because I have NEVER made a chess pie before..after 1 slice he said it was the best he has ever eaten. It was not runny or grainy, it was perfect!!!! Thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fountain Run, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Followed the reviews, but it still came out soupy. Incredibly sweet, actually way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I wish I knew what I did wrong with this pie. I've tried it twice, and both times bombed by having a beautiful crust only to discover a chess "pond" below. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. Since that didn't work, I tried some of the previous cooks' suggestions and added cooking time and left the pie in the oven while it cooled down. Both results were the same. The flavor is exactly what I'm looking for, but I just can't get it to set. I'm an old-fashioned southern girl from Tennessee who knows her chess pies and has worked in bakeries, so why is it that I can make a three-tiered wedding cake, but can't get this pie to set?! ha ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I have made this pie recipe several years and the most important tip that I can give is to make sure that no mixer is used to make this pie. As the directions state, everything is stirred together. No whisking. only stirring. I do not put cornmeal in my pie. This is a good sugar pie. Years ago it was said that the name was Jess Pie....or Just Pie..there are a lot of old stories as far as the name goes. However, I have been eating Chess Pie for over 50 years and this is a good recipe. There is also another name...Transparent Pie...regardless of what it is called...baking until a knife comes out clean is the way I was taught to bake it. This pie cooked at the right time and temp that were recommended in the original directions and I used the ingredients that were called for, other than leaving out the cornmeal. I make this pie for Thanksgiving and Christmas and the forks are ready long before the pie is cool enough to eat. I always make 2 or 3 as I know how special this pie is for our family holidays. It makes no difference how many other desserts show up, these pies go out first...I do cover the edges with foil; as I don't like a burned crust or even too brown. It is an old Southern pie recipe and it was made when there were very few ingredients available to even make a pie. Just Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyLoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was the first pie I have ever made- EVER- and even my picky eater of a husband loved it! It's a custardy pie, very rich. It goes great with a big cup of tea or milk. It's very simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittypodz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
oh snap i didnt realize until after i put the pie in the oven that i didnt use the vinegar..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States