Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I made two of these pies for my daughter's 8th grade graduation party... per her request. We also had a cake. At the end of the party both pies were long gone and the cake was untouched... and it was a nice cake too. The only caveat is these pies need a longer cook time than indicated. I ended up throwing them in the over at 300 for an additional 20 minutes. Then they setup firm. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
The pie was beautiful, but the flavor was less than desirable, like egg flavored custard. I definitely won't make this again. I'm only giving it two stars because it was still edible despite the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Best chess pie, every body at my job LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by essae
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
hi all! this was soupy and gooey! i followed the instructions to a tee, and not only was it so soupy, it tasted like nothing but dissloved sugar. i love sweet things, but this was so sweet with no other taste to it but sugar. We did not eat it. I thought something might be strange when i tasted the batter before pouring it into the crust. The sugar did not dissolve and I tasted the sugar granuals in the mix. Thought it seemed weird the sugar did not dissolve. Would never make again. Like i said, even if it did harden up, the taste is nothing but sugar!! I have made great chess bars before using cream chesse in the mixture and those were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I should have read the reviews first; I followed the original directions and it came out looking like a waterbed. Definitely bake at 350 for 50 minutes and cover the outer crust, and definitely leave it in the oven after you turn it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
EXCELLENT pie. Was a big hit at Thanksgiving. Was a creamier pie than the ones I have had in the past and was a wonderful bonus. The only thing that I would suggest is to cook it longer than the directions because was not set in middle until baked for an hour. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very good chess pie. I also let mine set in the oven to cool, and the texture was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunbar, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Very good chess pie super sweet, and it takes longer than 50 mins to cook. I let mine sit in the stove and turn it off after the 50 mins..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
It did not cook in the middle. RUNNY!!! It could be because I used a deep dish pie. But I did taste the flavor I was looking for, just needed to set in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D_GOODEN
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This is the pie of my childhood. One bite and I was back at my grandmother's table...what a memory it was. I prepared the recipe as written, with the exception of pre-heating to 450 degrees and then lowering the temperature when placing the pie in the oven. Next time I will add some coconut. Thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States