Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made this pie exactly as is (except I left it in the oven until the oven cooled, thus setting the center a bit more), and it was very good. It was a raving success at my Thanksgiving dinner, and it disappeared before any of the other desserts. It is a quintessential chess pie, with a dark, cracked top and a soft center. To me, it was a bit sweet (which is the point), so I just made another one, substituting whipping cream for the evaporated milk and adding flaked coconut...which won't make it any less sweet, but it sounds good anyway. I'll let everybody know how it compares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
Great Pie. The texture was awesome, my wife was about to eat it right out of the pie pan. I plan on making this one for family gatherings and holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WICKYWOOWOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Very easy and great to whip up on short notice. My friends at work beg me to bring this pie for snack days. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitwell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
This pie is still in the oven as I write this, but after all the recipes Ive tried I have yet to come along one that resembled the pies my grandmother used to make. One of the reasons I searched for so long was that I didnt realize the one very simple fact that set my family pies apart from the "recipe pies" - the commotion. There was always so much going on in our house during the holidays that this pie was made, that the pie always fell. Every Chess pie (we call it Vinegar Pie) Ive ever had in 22 years has been flat! I would recommend stomping to anyone else who has this same tradition. Also, leaving your pie in the oven while the oven cools is truly the best way to set the center, and the top is SUPPOSED to be brown and cracked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FYRECRACKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
Here's what happened to me: I made the pie exactly as directed and ended up with "soup pie." It set for about 5 minutes, and then went completely soupy. It was awful. I carefully read the reviews again and took Wilemon's advice and added coconut (fab idea!) and CRIVY1's advice and did the preheating thing and added the heavy whipping cream and what do you know! I ended up with a great pie that everyone loves! It was well worth failing the first time. The only thing I would change for making it again is cut the sugar in half. It is extremely sweet. Thanks for all the tips guys!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This actually made enough for 2 pies. It was good, but it came out a bit runny inside. I followed Crivy1's advice and turned the oven off to let it set, so I didn't overcook the top. However, it still wasn't very firm or set inside. But it had a good flavor and was close to what my husband remembered it to be (he's from North MS). I would try again and use cream next time to hopefully thicken it some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNIET310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
My husband made this pie and it was ok but did not set up well and tasted like it was missing something although he followed the recipe exactly. We might try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
This is an excellent recipe and very easy to make. I am a little surprised at some of the negative comments. This pie recipe is very typical and delicious for one of the custard-type pies. Try using heavy whipping cream rather than evaporated milk, this will help with the texture and the cracking. Also, PRE-HEAT your oven to 450 degrees, place pie plate on a cookie sheet, place in oven and immediately turn oven down to 350 degrees and bake 45-50 minutes. The top will be a medium brown as the cornmeal surfaces and browns, and the pie should be set. I had no problems with it and my family absolutely loves it. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
This is an excellent recipe. I made it once and now my family requests it all the time. It's especially good with Cool Whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States