Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I had to cook this pie 40 minutes longer than the recipe called for because it stayed liquidy! Then I let it sit in the oven until it cooled down. I followed the directions exactly. Even then, the pie 'wept' liquid when it was cut and the crust was not even baked. I will NOT try this pie again. HOWEVER, IT MAY BE THE SIZE OF THE EGGS WHICH CAUSE THIS RECIPE TO WORK FOR SOME PEOPLE AND 'BOMB' FOR OTHERS. I USED 4 EXTRA-LARGE EGGS IN THE RECIPE. MAYBE IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER WITH SMALLER OR FEWER EGGS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is very similar to recipe I've used for years and that people at my church ask for frequently. However, my recipe only uses 3 eggs and 1-1/2 C sugar. It does crack a lot which I don't like. Letting it cool in the oven will help somewhat, but I believe the cracking is due to the cornmeal which forms the crust. A lot of the seasoned-chess-pie-makers I know do not include cornmeal in their recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Trying this tonight for our anniversary my husband loves chess pie..hope he likes this one. Curious about the person who submitted this recipe. My maiden name was Knecht just wondering where you are from? Not a common name. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I made two of these pies for my daughter's 8th grade graduation party... per her request. We also had a cake. At the end of the party both pies were long gone and the cake was untouched... and it was a nice cake too. The only caveat is these pies need a longer cook time than indicated. I ended up throwing them in the over at 300 for an additional 20 minutes. Then they setup firm. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
The pie was beautiful, but the flavor was less than desirable, like egg flavored custard. I definitely won't make this again. I'm only giving it two stars because it was still edible despite the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Best chess pie, every body at my job LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by essae
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
hi all! this was soupy and gooey! i followed the instructions to a tee, and not only was it so soupy, it tasted like nothing but dissloved sugar. i love sweet things, but this was so sweet with no other taste to it but sugar. We did not eat it. I thought something might be strange when i tasted the batter before pouring it into the crust. The sugar did not dissolve and I tasted the sugar granuals in the mix. Thought it seemed weird the sugar did not dissolve. Would never make again. Like i said, even if it did harden up, the taste is nothing but sugar!! I have made great chess bars before using cream chesse in the mixture and those were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I should have read the reviews first; I followed the original directions and it came out looking like a waterbed. Definitely bake at 350 for 50 minutes and cover the outer crust, and definitely leave it in the oven after you turn it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
EXCELLENT pie. Was a big hit at Thanksgiving. Was a creamier pie than the ones I have had in the past and was a wonderful bonus. The only thing that I would suggest is to cook it longer than the directions because was not set in middle until baked for an hour. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very good chess pie. I also let mine set in the oven to cool, and the texture was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunbar, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States