Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
oh snap i didnt realize until after i put the pie in the oven that i didnt use the vinegar..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I followed this exactly how it's written, well I got some of the same results others got, liquid runny, not setting well I covered my crust edges and bumped up the temp to 350 for about 12 more mins and it set perfect. So instead of 300, 350 for aprox. 30 mins that should do it. I will get back to you all on taste...lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was an awesome recipe! Very easy to make and a simply wonderful pie. The only change I made was to add an extra egg since I like my custard pies to be a little "eggy." My Daughter has Celiac so I pulled out a little custard before adding the cornmeal (mine is not GF) and baked it in a custard dish in a water bath - she loved it! I served it with Cool Whip because our family believes there are not many desserts that can't be enhanced with a little CW. I will be making this pie again! (and again, and again...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
It's been years since I made a chess pie because we lost my grandmother's recipe. Decided to try this one. I used whole milk rather than evaporated and left out the vinegar. I know a lot of people said this was too sweet, but I have had chess pies even sweeter than this. This was really good but not as good as my grandmother's. I hope one day I'll figure out the exact recipe she used. As for cooking it, I also preheated at 425, then turned down to 300 when I put in the pie. I cooked it about 50 min, then turned off the oven and left it in for about 20 more minutes. The top was brown but not burnt. It only had a couple of tiny cracks around the edges. I didn't cut it until the next day, but it was PERFECT consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this pie for the first time at Thanksgiving & it was absolutely delicious! My only trouble was with the cooking time - after I turned the oven down, the pie was in for 60 minutes and was still almost liquid in the middle! I took it out anyway because the crust was getting way too dark even with a metal pie shield. Not sure what I did wrong, but it still tasted great! I'm going to try again for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I had never had this type of pie before but wanted something different for Thanksgiving dinner...it was incredible. Easy and delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Chess pie is my favorite pie ever. And growing up in the Tennessee back country hills, everyone's Granny makes them. I used this recipe, with 4 eggs but used the buttermilk and half brown/white sugars....Its a lil too eggy for me. I will make it with 3 eggs next time and see how I like it then. Overall very very close to good country chess(buttermilk) pie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carthage, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Not sure what I am doing wrong. My pie keeps coming out VERY runny. I have made it twice and both times it will not set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I loved this pie. Very, very, sweet. I used lemon instead of vinegar, (I was out of vinegar) it was great. I wanted something sweet and I had to find something I had the ingredients for on hand. This fit the bill. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I had to cook this pie 40 minutes longer than the recipe called for because it stayed liquidy! Then I let it sit in the oven until it cooled down. I followed the directions exactly. Even then, the pie 'wept' liquid when it was cut and the crust was not even baked. I will NOT try this pie again. HOWEVER, IT MAY BE THE SIZE OF THE EGGS WHICH CAUSE THIS RECIPE TO WORK FOR SOME PEOPLE AND 'BOMB' FOR OTHERS. I USED 4 EXTRA-LARGE EGGS IN THE RECIPE. MAYBE IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER WITH SMALLER OR FEWER EGGS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States