Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
made two of these pies for Thanksgiving this year. My family fell upon it like ravenous wolves. My dad said that he just didn't like the pie, he thought it was the best chess pie he had ever had. What we liked most was the crust that it made on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I was informed earlier this week that I was in charge of dessert for Thanksgiving. I was actually looking for something else when I happened across this recipe. As a child growing up in north central Kentucky my grandmother, a country girl from a small Kentucky town, would make chess pie occasionally around the holidays. She's been gone many years now and I haven't had a chess pie in a long time. Upon seeing this recipe, I decided we were having chess pie along with the usual pumpkin and pecan pies. I followed the recipe to the letter and was rewarded with a near perfect pie. It wasn't quite as good as my grandmother's but it was pretty close. It was the first dessert gone out of at least five others. My mother and oldest sister (both great cooks) pronounced it wonderful. I have been told to bring two next time. By the way, this was the first pie I have ever baked in my fifty plus years. I had one issue however. The cook time was a little longer than called for. I'll be using this recipe again come Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
The reason to top the pie off with whipped cream is to cut down on the sweetness of the pie but doesn't affect the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Yep, tried this one twice and still ended up with a beautifully flavored warm shake. Won’t try again…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Whooooholy this is SWEET! Like, a headache in each slice. Not sure if that is how it is supposed to taste, but am going to cut way back on the sugar next time. I agree with the other reviewers to up the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I used this recipe and it worked for me. I did a practice round and found that if I use a little less butter and cook on 350 for 50 minutes you get a nice finishing on the top and in the center. It tastes delicious! My family went wild! I would use this recipe again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
My boyfriend (who is from Tennessee) told me awhile back that he loves chess pie. Being a yankee I had to look it up to see what it was. I saw this recipe and made it for him for his birthday and it came out perfect! I followed the advice of some of the others here and baked it at the recommended time and temps, but then turned the oven off and let the pie cool in the oven. I also didn't have white vinegar on hand so I substituted apple cider vinegar. No runniness, not too eggy, very sweet, perfectly golden brown on top. He loved it! Thanks for the great recipe. I've got an extra pie shell so I'm going to bake another one soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This pie has a great flavor but I found it to be very runny to remedy this just add 1 tablespoon of flour and you will have perfection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Ok, after reading several of the reviews I finally made this pie. I followed the ingredients exactly except I used about 3/4 tablespoon of jiffy muffin mix instead of cornmeal because it's what I had on hand. I let the milk, butter, and eggs get to room temperature before mixing. I baked it as instructed for 10 minutes at 425 then I baked it for 1 hour and 10 minutes at 300 and let it sit in the oven until it cooled. The pie turned out perfect. It had the perfect crusty top and was firm, not gooey at all, on the inside. It is definitely eggy and sweet but if you like chess pie it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Success must depend on your oven because I had made this before but set the oven at 425 for 10 minutes and finished at 350 for 50+ minutes. That almost worked, but was a little runny. This time I followed the directions exactly, let it cool, then poured out the filling which was barely starting to set up at the edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States