Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Very simple to make..... had fun making this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Chess Pie has always been my favorite ever since I was a kid. This pie is the real deal too. Not sure why others have trouble it is very simple and by allowing the butter to soften and making sure to use real butter not margarine (which has excess water in it) will help to keep it from being runny. Also by using buttermilk it helps with that issue. The top of the pie is suppose to crack and to avoid getting dark edges on the crust cover with foil until the last 20 min of cooking. It is very sweet but its suppose to be that way and as others have commented the pie is going to be dark on top due to the cornmeal. This is an amazing recipe and I am glad I ran across it on here being it was a hard recipe to locate and no longer having my mother around to get it from. It is one my entire family loves and if you use two regular pie crust instead of one deep dish the filling goes farther. I always have to make sure I have two made because one is never enough in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenbug4877

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sparta, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I absolutely love Chess pie! It resembles my friends buttermilk pie. This recipe is very simple and delightful. I make a double batch and put it in a glass dish instead of a pie dish due to it doesn't last too long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtdawni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginny Ickle
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made this with Splenda in place of the sugar and lemon juice in place of the vinegar, and it still worked beautifully. Baked it in a part-coconut-flour, gluten-free, short-crust pastry shell, which got a drizzle of maltitol syrup and a scattering of fresh strawberries before the filling was poured in. Very pretty tart, very well-received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Ickle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I have been making this pie for years. Started making it because it was what we could afford & had on hand at the time lo. It is a favorite of my entire family. Never served it with a topping but just may try that. I also make the Pumpkin-Chess Pie version too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
this is a wonderful recipe, for a wonderful pie!!! The recipe has been changed and modified many times over the years. However the original and literally it is and was (JUST pie),, but due to the fact that it is a southern dish,, the name "jes pie" is how it is pronounced in the south,, it comes out chess pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Reminds me of my Great Grandmother Moa(RIP) -this taste exactly like hers- now that I know how too make it:I fear my diet is losing a never ending battle. A nice add on since I've had time to experiment is lime zest and the juice from one small lime -gives it a pleasant kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E B Dixon Jr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
HYPER sweet!!! I know this is traditionally a very sweet pie, but it was too sweet for us. We tried it for the first time in a homey little place in Nashville, TN, so we wanted to have it for Thanksgiving. The flavor was very good, just too much sugar. It worked out though, because our blueberries were very tart last summer, so if you had a fork full of blueberry pie and a fork full of Chess pie at the same time, they were both perfect. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Roscoe, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
It had a nice taste but it didn't set well for me. It was very runny but the top was very crisp and a dark golden brown. I made another chess pie recipe with only 3 eggs and no evaporated milk and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
LOOOOVE this recipe! I don't know what the deal is with some of these reviews. I live in the flat country of West Tennessee and this recipe trumps some of the local hand-me-down ones. Not only do I make this for my own family, but I have begun making these for the restaurant in which I work. The customers rave over it! I have always let my pies cool in the oven (for want of counter space) so I have never had the eggy pond like others with this particular recipe. The sweetness is perfect and so is the cornmeal crust. This is one to show off with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States