Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it set properly but there was entirely too much sugar. I would scale back the sugar by at least 1/2 cup. I did't need the extra time in the oven as suggested by other reviewers. I wanted to taste the other ingredients more, though. The sugar content was very over-powering. It may need a 1/4 teaspoon of salt as well if you use unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I've loved Chess pies since I first had one when I moved to Nashville, and I've made many of them following a great New York Times cookbook recipe (with lemon rather than vinegar), but I couldn't find the cookbook so I grabbed this recipe. My biggest complaint with this recipe (and I should have known better) is that it understates the amount of time, and the importance, of making sure that you cook the pie long enough so that it sets -- 50, 60, 70, 80 -- whatever it takes, it has to set, otherwise, it's ruined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is the best chess pie recipe I have found! It's exactly like my grandmas and it's heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie Madore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Easy and sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bradon Cohorn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I've tried this and it was amazing! It's the favorite dessert for the holidays in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Very simple to make..... had fun making this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Chess Pie has always been my favorite ever since I was a kid. This pie is the real deal too. Not sure why others have trouble it is very simple and by allowing the butter to soften and making sure to use real butter not margarine (which has excess water in it) will help to keep it from being runny. Also by using buttermilk it helps with that issue. The top of the pie is suppose to crack and to avoid getting dark edges on the crust cover with foil until the last 20 min of cooking. It is very sweet but its suppose to be that way and as others have commented the pie is going to be dark on top due to the cornmeal. This is an amazing recipe and I am glad I ran across it on here being it was a hard recipe to locate and no longer having my mother around to get it from. It is one my entire family loves and if you use two regular pie crust instead of one deep dish the filling goes farther. I always have to make sure I have two made because one is never enough in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenbug4877

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sparta, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I absolutely love Chess pie! It resembles my friends buttermilk pie. This recipe is very simple and delightful. I make a double batch and put it in a glass dish instead of a pie dish due to it doesn't last too long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtdawni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginny Ickle
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made this with Splenda in place of the sugar and lemon juice in place of the vinegar, and it still worked beautifully. Baked it in a part-coconut-flour, gluten-free, short-crust pastry shell, which got a drizzle of maltitol syrup and a scattering of fresh strawberries before the filling was poured in. Very pretty tart, very well-received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Ickle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I have been making this pie for years. Started making it because it was what we could afford & had on hand at the time lo. It is a favorite of my entire family. Never served it with a topping but just may try that. I also make the Pumpkin-Chess Pie version too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States