Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This pie is so good & easy to make .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Excellent recipe. I never had chess pie before, but found out I sure do love it!! Everyone who had some did too. Had no problem with it....just followed the recipe exactly and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
we had this at Thanksgiving. It was decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was an Awesome Pie... My firs time making it and i was impressed.. So was Hubby! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I was so intrigued by this recipe and could not figure out how this would taste or how it could be good, based on the ingredients. So naturally I had to try it. I actually made it gluten free to accommodate some family members, simply using a gluten free pre-made pie crust. I also substituted a mixture of apple cider vinegar and lemon juice for the white vinegar, since I forgot to grab it at the store. I am happy to report that this pie is absolutely delicious. Even the kids who were skeptical raved about it after they tried it. It is so rich and satisfying. This has already been requested for Christmas next year. It's definitely going on the holiday menu going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I wanted to make this pie for my dad when he came to visit. I made it with only two substitutions. I didn't have white vinegar so I used rice vinegar. I also didn't have plain cornmeal so I used one tablespoon of cornbread mix. The most important thing is that I followed the baking instructions of another reviewer, KatieJane79, and after baking for the recommended time I just turned the oven off and left the pie in until it was room temperature. The pie turned out perfect. It was a beautiful golden color and had no runny middle or cracks in it. It tasted wonderful. I decided that if the previous reviewer's family had made it that way for generations, I would try her method. Thank you for the tip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Just like my Grammie used to make. My whole family is so glad I found this recipe. I make it for every family get together and my husband, brother and nephew all INSIST they each have to have one of their own. I usually have to make 5 just so have enough to go around!!!! THANKS so very much!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This recipe has been passed down for generations on my Mom's side of her very Southern family. The trick to baking this pie completely through is a very simple one. After you bake the pie for 40 minutes at the recommended temperature you simply turn the oven off and leave the pie in the oven. Once the oven has cooled to room temp you remove the pie. This is how my family has baked the pie for as long as I can remember and we've never had a burned pie or a runny center! Hope this helps... It is definately a great pie to enjoy and I feel so bad for those of you who were discouraged by the pie not being completely baked! Give it another try and I promise you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
I found that when I followed the directions, the pie wasn't set in the center so I had to return it to the oven. Might want to increase the bake time. Would also suggest that you cover with foil so the top won't brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
I need to work on this recipe. I think it was the cook and not the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

How to Fix Cracked Pie

Cracks in the pie? It’s no crisis. We’ve got great ideas for simple fixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States