Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Excellent recipe. I never had chess pie before, but found out I sure do love it!! Everyone who had some did too. Had no problem with it....just followed the recipe exactly and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This pie is so good & easy to make .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
we had this at Thanksgiving. It was decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was an Awesome Pie... My firs time making it and i was impressed.. So was Hubby! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Just like my Grammie used to make. My whole family is so glad I found this recipe. I make it for every family get together and my husband, brother and nephew all INSIST they each have to have one of their own. I usually have to make 5 just so have enough to go around!!!! THANKS so very much!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I was so intrigued by this recipe and could not figure out how this would taste or how it could be good, based on the ingredients. So naturally I had to try it. I actually made it gluten free to accommodate some family members, simply using a gluten free pre-made pie crust. I also substituted a mixture of apple cider vinegar and lemon juice for the white vinegar, since I forgot to grab it at the store. I am happy to report that this pie is absolutely delicious. Even the kids who were skeptical raved about it after they tried it. It is so rich and satisfying. This has already been requested for Christmas next year. It's definitely going on the holiday menu going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This recipe has been passed down for generations on my Mom's side of her very Southern family. The trick to baking this pie completely through is a very simple one. After you bake the pie for 40 minutes at the recommended temperature you simply turn the oven off and leave the pie in the oven. Once the oven has cooled to room temp you remove the pie. This is how my family has baked the pie for as long as I can remember and we've never had a burned pie or a runny center! Hope this helps... It is definately a great pie to enjoy and I feel so bad for those of you who were discouraged by the pie not being completely baked! Give it another try and I promise you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
I found that when I followed the directions, the pie wasn't set in the center so I had to return it to the oven. Might want to increase the bake time. Would also suggest that you cover with foil so the top won't brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
I need to work on this recipe. I think it was the cook and not the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I wanted to fix something like my grandmother used to fix and I tried this. I guess I mixed it too much, it came out smooth on the top and there is WAYYYYY too much sugar in it. I am going to try this again but only using about 1 1/4 cup sugar. Maybe even one cup. Other than that I think once I fiddle with it more that it will be exactly like my grandma's. Thank you so much for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhotoVirginia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

How to Fix Cracked Pie

Cracks in the pie? It’s no crisis. We’ve got great ideas for simple fixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States