Chess Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
I found that when I followed the directions, the pie wasn't set in the center so I had to return it to the oven. Might want to increase the bake time. Would also suggest that you cover with foil so the top won't brown too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
I need to work on this recipe. I think it was the cook and not the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This pie is so good & easy to make .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
this pie is so delicious. the only problem i have is that the top always cracks after it's done. (Does anyone know how to prevent this)? also i think the initial 10 minutes could be increased some to help brown the bottom better. But we love it, and i make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
This may be a good pie, but, when I cooked it and let cool, the center was juicy, returned to oven cooked another hour and top turned hard and dark brown, center was still soft. Something is still very wrong with the time or temp....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
The recipe do not work for me at all. It had the right consistency, but the taste was a little to eggy. I guess its all according to what your used to in chess pie. My pie firmed around the edges but took forever to firm in the middle leaving me with a slighty burned pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Excellent recipe. I never had chess pie before, but found out I sure do love it!! Everyone who had some did too. Had no problem with it....just followed the recipe exactly and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
we had this at Thanksgiving. It was decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was an Awesome Pie... My firs time making it and i was impressed.. So was Hubby! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Just like my Grammie used to make. My whole family is so glad I found this recipe. I make it for every family get together and my husband, brother and nephew all INSIST they each have to have one of their own. I usually have to make 5 just so have enough to go around!!!! THANKS so very much!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

How to Fix Cracked Pie

Cracks in the pie? It’s no crisis. We’ve got great ideas for simple fixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States