Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I did not care for this cake - way too rich for me and our guests did not go nuts over it. Most couldn't finish the small piece I had served them. Maybe we were just way too full for this but I don't care how full I am - if the dessert rocks I can usually finish it. I won't make it again - thanks for sharing tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Taste just like chess pie, we gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I FOLLOWED THE INSTRUCTIONS to a T and it didnt turn out like i expected the bottom layer was dry cake the top layer mush and all i could taste was sugar i wont be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Delicious!!! I only made it with 2 cups of sugar & it turned out tasty. I also added vanilla & it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kdiaz331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I was so disappointed in how mine turned out. It really just tasted like baked sugar. It was too sweet.I dont know what went wrong. Maybe I should try it again just to be sure because so many others reviewed it highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. It was very good. The top did not become golden brown until a full hour had passed but the cake at the bottom was browned instead of light colored as in the picture. It was not gooey like I expected. It was much firmer than I thought it would be after reading reviews. I think I should have moved my oven rack up a little bit and cooked it a little less time. Regardless, I will definitely be making it again and I'll be taking it to work tomorrow to share with colleagues. I'm sure I'll get a thumbs up. My hubby actually liked it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
this recipe is moist and sweet- if you're diabetic, this is not the treat for you. Goes well with milk to offset the sweetness. The recipe turned out well, but I wasn't aware of how sweet it was!!! *_*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This recipe was great. No doubt it's rich, try serving it with fresh raspberries and blueberries - the tastes truly compliment each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is one of my husband's favorites growing up and i was eager to give it a try. The recipe is quite good. I have learned through trial and error that it is best made in a jelly roll pan and cut into cookie sized pieces due to the richness of it. I decrease the baking time to about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I cut back on the baking time and added vanilla and a pinch of salt. Makes an interesting difference, small yet, a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arthur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States