Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jimi Lee
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Turned out lighter and fluffier than most chess cakes. Very yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jimi Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This recipe was easy to follow and the result out of the oven was delicious!!!! Any southerner would be proud to serve this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
WAAAAYYYY too sweet and gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This recipe was great! Very easy. Didn't change a thing and found it to be very good. I always buy chess cakes in the bakery and they are very proud of them. Now I have my own recipe and can make it for a 1/4 of the cost to buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This is essentially gooey butter cake from St. Louis. When I make it, I let the stick of butter melt in the pan while I mix the cream cheese and 2 eggs with a fork. Sprinkle that over the melted butter and pat down. In the same bowl (no need to wash), combine the cream cheese, 2 Tbsp of butter, the eggs, and powdered sugar. Pour that over the crust. Sprinkle with more powdered sugar. Bake until the crust starts to crack and is golden brown. The edges are the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St. Louis Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
"OH SO EASY - LAST MINUTE" dessert. My husband wanted something that was sweet 'n "wet" in his terms. This one HIT his sweet spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troubled Eggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I love this cake and have been making it since I was a teenager. None of my friends or family ever heard of it before my mom got the recipe. Now it's a required dessert at every family gathering. The only differences are that I use 1 egg for the bottom and 3 for the top..also, no butter in the top. I'll have to experiment with this version one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made this recipe twice. The first time I added 1 tsp of vanilla extract as another reviewer suggested, and the second I accidentally bought sugar free cake mix and I didn't add the vanilla extract. Both times were a hit! Everybody loved it. I felt like it was a bit too sweet and dense, but I feel like I have a picky palate when it comes to baked goods and I still loved it. It is amazing with ice cream, which helps offset the sweetness if you think it is too strong. All in all, this is a wonderful recipe that I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I was looking for this, but didn't know what it was called. A friend calls it Ugly Cake. We add 1/2 cup of chopped pecans to the cake mix. It makes it extra special. Top layer, we do not add butter and only 1 egg. It is baked at 350 not 325. Best baked in a glass dish sprayed with Pam. Completely cool before cutting. Dynamite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States