Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Turned out really well, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I'm surprised about all the reviews; this cake was so sweet that my grandkids (ages 9, 10 and 11) couldn't eat it. Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is really good! The only change I made was to add a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the cream cheese part. It turned out very, very sweet- probably the sweetest dessert I've ever made. You could cut back on the sugar to 3 or even 2 cups. I wasn't sure exactly what to expect with this recipe and was expecting something more cakey. It ended up like a bar. The texture of the crust part and the filling part is actually very reminescent of lemon bars. The crust part is kind of chewy (particularly the edges and if it's cold) and the filling part (which does not taste like cream cheese to us) is gooey. So if you like chewy and gooey, make these for sure, but if you don't, stay away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
VERYYY GOOD!! made this for a crosscountry pre-meet dinner and everyone loved it! one said it was the best thing she ever ate! thankyou soo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
The whole family loved this dessert! I used a lemon cake mix rather then yellow and it added a great summery flavor. I will be making this again and trying different flavors. I am glad I cut the bars small as they are very rich - but you can always have two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I baked this recipe for 45 minutes and it still didn't get done, it was really gooey. I don't know what I did wrong, but I will try it again, but bake it in a jelly roll pan. I am open to any suggestions, as this recipe is simple and sounded very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Good, rich comforting stuff. The tips about using hands or potato masher were good ones! I thought this was easy-peasy to make for as yummy as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made cupcakes instead of a cake as I only have a toaster oven. I used 1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon of the cake mix in the paper cup and topped with 1 heaping tablespoon of the topping. I used just 1 box of powdered sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract with the cream cheese and eggs for the topping. Baked for 20 minutes. Ssssoooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
i dont understand the rave reviews. i made the yellow cake "mix" from scratch... and followed the rest of the directions as written. (used 3.75 cups confectioner's sugar instead of 4... just because thats what 1 box equals) in any case, it was a pain to stir the base layer, and even worse to try and keep it down without it sticking to your hands. the top layer is way too eggy and there's not enough of it if its supposed to be like cheesecake. ugh, this was not what i was expecting at all and im far from pleasantly surprised. (35 mins at 350 seemed fine for mine tho - it looks the same as the 2 pics posted)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
My friends love when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States