Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made the red velvet version-crazy good! I mixed the base with my hands like someone suggested and it was easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Yummy, simple and all gone:) I used a red velvet cake mix and most guests had more than one piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Turned out really well, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I'm surprised about all the reviews; this cake was so sweet that my grandkids (ages 9, 10 and 11) couldn't eat it. Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is really good! The only change I made was to add a teaspoon of vanilla extract to the cream cheese part. It turned out very, very sweet- probably the sweetest dessert I've ever made. You could cut back on the sugar to 3 or even 2 cups. I wasn't sure exactly what to expect with this recipe and was expecting something more cakey. It ended up like a bar. The texture of the crust part and the filling part is actually very reminescent of lemon bars. The crust part is kind of chewy (particularly the edges and if it's cold) and the filling part (which does not taste like cream cheese to us) is gooey. So if you like chewy and gooey, make these for sure, but if you don't, stay away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
VERYYY GOOD!! made this for a crosscountry pre-meet dinner and everyone loved it! one said it was the best thing she ever ate! thankyou soo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
The whole family loved this dessert! I used a lemon cake mix rather then yellow and it added a great summery flavor. I will be making this again and trying different flavors. I am glad I cut the bars small as they are very rich - but you can always have two!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I baked this recipe for 45 minutes and it still didn't get done, it was really gooey. I don't know what I did wrong, but I will try it again, but bake it in a jelly roll pan. I am open to any suggestions, as this recipe is simple and sounded very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Good, rich comforting stuff. The tips about using hands or potato masher were good ones! I thought this was easy-peasy to make for as yummy as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made cupcakes instead of a cake as I only have a toaster oven. I used 1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon of the cake mix in the paper cup and topped with 1 heaping tablespoon of the topping. I used just 1 box of powdered sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract with the cream cheese and eggs for the topping. Baked for 20 minutes. Ssssoooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States