Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I used a marble cake mix and it turned out great! This was an easy recipe and the kids loved to help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
My mother gave me this recipe and she called it Sticky Cake. I made it for my family and friends at work and everyone love it. I made it with a lemon cake mix and it was wonderful. I am going to try it with Red Velvet cake mix for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This cake is unbelieveable! My grandmother used to buy pies from the grocery bakery. She called them Chess pies, I would die for them. I never got the recipe because they were "fattening" Once in a while I'd buy them when I got older, but always thought they would be hard to make. When I saw this recipe I thought how easy, and mabe it'll taste like the pie. OMG!, it's lovely tastes like the pies my Gma used to buy. I took it out of the oven, and only let it cool 10 min before I tasted it. My hubby and son couldn't beleive their taste buds! I will be making this, and I've already thought of other cake mixes to use in it. (I like experimenting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Best with red velvet cake mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie_James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raceland, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I received this recipe from a friend years ago and gets many many compliments and recipe requests when I make it. The base layer is very stiff, not at all like cake batter. I've found it's easier to dive in with my hands to mix it than to try and use a spoon. I cut it into small (small because it's very rich) squares...great for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDILYN66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I was really looking forward to this recipe. It was good, but took much longer than 35 minutes to bake. It was closer to an hour. But other than that, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was an easy fast and good cake to make. It was a big hit at the family get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I LOVE this recipe. I have made this three times in the last month and always get rave reviews. One helpful hint - I find the cake part of this hard to stir, so the last time I made it I used a potato masher to mix it up and it made the stirring a lot easier! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This recipe is great.. my husband tried to eat it straight from the oven. It doesnt make it very long at my house. I add some vanilla to the cream cheese mix..just a special little touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Made this for Thanksgiving, everyone loved it. Beware it is very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States