Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
My friends love when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This cake is awesome. My husband, who usually just eats a little dessert after dinner, enjoyed some later in the evening and awoke to have some for breakfast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuziQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is a great cake. I have made a variation of this recipe many times. One tip to mix the cake more easily is to mix with your hands. Use gloves. You may want to try a cup of pecans in the cake mix. You may also try a differnt flavor cake mix. (german chocolate cake mix with pecans and coconut drizzle with melted german chocolate bar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I bake at 325 for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
My mom used to make this all the time and I do now. You can use any flavor cake mix. Lemon is a good one and my fave is butter pecan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kyle C
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This recipe initially worried me for two reasons before going into the oven: 1) The cake "batter" was very dry and 2) the batter and topping nearly filled my pan.----After it came out, it settled a bit while cooling to a fairly level surface and was simply amazing. This will be my new standard chess cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This cake is sooo rich but it is really good. I have a crazy sweet tooth and even I questioned if it was too sweet. I only did about 3 and 1/2 cups of sugar and it turned out fine. My oven cooks uneven and it seemed like one side was more done than the other and I preferred the "crispier" side, so I will probably cook it just a little longer next time. Also, I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. All in all a good recipe that can be prepared quickly and feed a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
A friend of mine gave me this exact recipe last year. I had one similar to it years ago but it was called sugar cream cake. Every time I make this everyone asks for the recipe. Now other people are making to bring to our pitch ins! We love it & if you have a sweet tooth you will too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I have a major sweet tooth but this is so overwhelmingly sweet that even I can't stomach it. If you're determined to make this, I suggest cutting it into one inch squares and holding off until you have a very large bbq to attend. It went to waste at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
used 3 cups of powdered sugar, and that was enough. wonderful recipe to bring to pot luck cut up in lil squares..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vita Collaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States