Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
My friends love when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This cake is awesome. My husband, who usually just eats a little dessert after dinner, enjoyed some later in the evening and awoke to have some for breakfast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuziQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is a great cake. I have made a variation of this recipe many times. One tip to mix the cake more easily is to mix with your hands. Use gloves. You may want to try a cup of pecans in the cake mix. You may also try a differnt flavor cake mix. (german chocolate cake mix with pecans and coconut drizzle with melted german chocolate bar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I bake at 325 for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
My mom used to make this all the time and I do now. You can use any flavor cake mix. Lemon is a good one and my fave is butter pecan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kyle C
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This recipe initially worried me for two reasons before going into the oven: 1) The cake "batter" was very dry and 2) the batter and topping nearly filled my pan.----After it came out, it settled a bit while cooling to a fairly level surface and was simply amazing. This will be my new standard chess cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This cake is sooo rich but it is really good. I have a crazy sweet tooth and even I questioned if it was too sweet. I only did about 3 and 1/2 cups of sugar and it turned out fine. My oven cooks uneven and it seemed like one side was more done than the other and I preferred the "crispier" side, so I will probably cook it just a little longer next time. Also, I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. All in all a good recipe that can be prepared quickly and feed a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
A friend of mine gave me this exact recipe last year. I had one similar to it years ago but it was called sugar cream cake. Every time I make this everyone asks for the recipe. Now other people are making to bring to our pitch ins! We love it & if you have a sweet tooth you will too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I have a major sweet tooth but this is so overwhelmingly sweet that even I can't stomach it. If you're determined to make this, I suggest cutting it into one inch squares and holding off until you have a very large bbq to attend. It went to waste at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
used 3 cups of powdered sugar, and that was enough. wonderful recipe to bring to pot luck cut up in lil squares..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vita Collaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States