Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
The cream cheese layer didn't set right. It's extremely sweet. If I make this again there will be some major revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I used the reduced sugar yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydcartel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is from the viewpoint of someone branching out and trying a recipe for something completely unfamiliar to me (chess cake). I'm giving it 3 stars because I think it's somewhat deceptive. Had the look and ingredients of a cheesecake like bar, but nothing like cheesecake. You really can't even taste the cream cheese. Good if you're looking for an easy and SUPER sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lila Lyons-Werner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
The first time I made this with carrot cake mix...Awesome! The next time I made it with chocolate cake mix and I invited the same people to taste test. Guests ranged in ages from 11 years to 69 years old. Hands down the carrot cake won! By the way, they are both better the next day. The only thing I do different is I add vanilla to the cream cheese mixture and add 10 more minutes to the baking time. I shake the pan to make sure the middle of the cake does not jiggle before removing from the oven. Thanks for the great recipe. I going to make it again today with a different flavor cake mix. Can't wait!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This recipe is great!! Just made it for mothers day..hope it makes it to mothers before its all gone!! Only change I made was cut sugar down to 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I love this cake, its better then blondie brownies. Its great for bake sales, and A big hit at school. But beware they are addictive and if your watching calories, you might want to look away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Taste is great...it was eaten up in no time. Very sloppy in the middle, but good to put over vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I don't know which came first, but this is almost the same thing as a gooey butter cake, which I prefer over this. I used only 3 cups of sugar and thought it was waaaayyy too sweet...(Although my offspring appreciated the sugar overload, as did my guests). Btw, this cake tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
try using lemon or cherry chip cake mix just about any flavor will work some better than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cabin John, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richlands, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This recipe was awesome! It didn't require a long list of ingredients and it was super simple. I used fat-free egg substitute since that's all I had on hand and I used about 3-3/4 cup confectioners sugar because I figured it was really sweet anyways and I was right. My boyfriend said it's the best thing I've made :) I only got rave reviews, everyone liked it a lot. It really was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States