Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Pretty tasty. I used fat free cream cheese and only half of the powdered sugar and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I liked this recipe. I did reduce the sugar to 1 cup of 10x, powdered, confectioners sugar and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract...More of a cheesecake flavor. 4 cups of sugar is insanity! I also tried a variation that we loved...choc choc chip cake mix, added one cup of chocolate chips to the cream cheese topping layer...was like a black bottom cupcake/bar cookie...excellent! Also have added a little coconut and chopped pecans to topping with chocolate base..have fun with the variations...good base recipe! flavor and texture better on second day too...great make ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
The cream cheese layer didn't set right. It's extremely sweet. If I make this again there will be some major revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I used the reduced sugar yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sydcartel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is from the viewpoint of someone branching out and trying a recipe for something completely unfamiliar to me (chess cake). I'm giving it 3 stars because I think it's somewhat deceptive. Had the look and ingredients of a cheesecake like bar, but nothing like cheesecake. You really can't even taste the cream cheese. Good if you're looking for an easy and SUPER sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lila Lyons-Werner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
The first time I made this with carrot cake mix...Awesome! The next time I made it with chocolate cake mix and I invited the same people to taste test. Guests ranged in ages from 11 years to 69 years old. Hands down the carrot cake won! By the way, they are both better the next day. The only thing I do different is I add vanilla to the cream cheese mixture and add 10 more minutes to the baking time. I shake the pan to make sure the middle of the cake does not jiggle before removing from the oven. Thanks for the great recipe. I going to make it again today with a different flavor cake mix. Can't wait!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This recipe is great!! Just made it for mothers day..hope it makes it to mothers before its all gone!! Only change I made was cut sugar down to 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I love this cake, its better then blondie brownies. Its great for bake sales, and A big hit at school. But beware they are addictive and if your watching calories, you might want to look away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Taste is great...it was eaten up in no time. Very sloppy in the middle, but good to put over vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I don't know which came first, but this is almost the same thing as a gooey butter cake, which I prefer over this. I used only 3 cups of sugar and thought it was waaaayyy too sweet...(Although my offspring appreciated the sugar overload, as did my guests). Btw, this cake tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Stephenville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States