Chess Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This cake is awesome. My husband, who usually just eats a little dessert after dinner, enjoyed some later in the evening and awoke to have some for breakfast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuziQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is a great cake. I have made a variation of this recipe many times. One tip to mix the cake more easily is to mix with your hands. Use gloves. You may want to try a cup of pecans in the cake mix. You may also try a differnt flavor cake mix. (german chocolate cake mix with pecans and coconut drizzle with melted german chocolate bar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I bake at 325 for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
My mom used to make this all the time and I do now. You can use any flavor cake mix. Lemon is a good one and my fave is butter pecan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kyle C
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
This recipe initially worried me for two reasons before going into the oven: 1) The cake "batter" was very dry and 2) the batter and topping nearly filled my pan.----After it came out, it settled a bit while cooling to a fairly level surface and was simply amazing. This will be my new standard chess cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This cake is sooo rich but it is really good. I have a crazy sweet tooth and even I questioned if it was too sweet. I only did about 3 and 1/2 cups of sugar and it turned out fine. My oven cooks uneven and it seemed like one side was more done than the other and I preferred the "crispier" side, so I will probably cook it just a little longer next time. Also, I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. All in all a good recipe that can be prepared quickly and feed a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
A friend of mine gave me this exact recipe last year. I had one similar to it years ago but it was called sugar cream cake. Every time I make this everyone asks for the recipe. Now other people are making to bring to our pitch ins! We love it & if you have a sweet tooth you will too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I have a major sweet tooth but this is so overwhelmingly sweet that even I can't stomach it. If you're determined to make this, I suggest cutting it into one inch squares and holding off until you have a very large bbq to attend. It went to waste at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
used 3 cups of powdered sugar, and that was enough. wonderful recipe to bring to pot luck cut up in lil squares..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is an easy to make cake, very tasty, and it is impossible to taste the cake mix. One of the very few cakes in my recipe box that are not made from scratch - and nobody can tell! However - I reduce the confectioners' sugar from 4 cups down to only 1 1/2 cups and the cake is still borderlined too sweet for most people I had taste it - and even for me. Since I really like sweet (sugar does not get old in my house!) I can not imagine how "normal" people can enjoy this cake with the full load of sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States