Chesapeake Bay Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I thought this recipe turned out very tasty! I was a little hesitant b/c I really only use Old Bay for when I cook salmon, but the flavors all blended so well together. I only had dried basil, so I used that instead. Mine marinated for only 3-3.5 hours and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Loved these! But we love Old Bay so of course we loved these. I couldnt grill these so i baked them in the marinade @ 350 for 40 mins. I will be making these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This recipie was fantastic - the only thing I did different was I used dried basil instead of fresh as I did not have any. I had 6 boneless pork chops left over and needed something to do with them - I did a search and found this recipie. I actually cut my pork into cubes and marinated in a ziplock bag for about 5 hours then sauteed them in a heavy skillet over medium high heat and then used the pork to make pork tacos - my wife and kids loved them - I will definetely do this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I didn't like the smell of the marinade. I didn't like the way the pork chops smelled when they emerged from the marinade. And I didn't like how they smelled as they were roasting (Hubs wasn't feeling well so at the last minute I had to throw these in the oven rather than grill them). If all those clues weren't enough, the one taste I had sealed it for me. Somewhere along the line the taste of those beautiful Porterhouse chops got lost in the unpleasant tang of vinegar and lime juice. I can't remember the last time I disliked something so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I just made this last night and it was delicious!! I left the pork chops marinating in the ziploc bag in the fridge overnight. The only difference from the recipe is that I didn't have fresh basil, so I used ground basil instead. When I got home from work around 6pm, I threw the pork chops in the oven at 350 degrees for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Served the chops with rice and voila! A truly yummy meal. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I admit that I was pretty skeptical about this one because of the number of reviewers who thought the vinegar flavor was too strong. Well, let me just say, we REALLY, REALLY liked this. I did proceed cautiously and made 1/2 the recipe using 3 T. of vinegar and a heaping 1/2 T. of Old Bay. I marinated this for 5 hours and then Hubs grilled it to perfection! We'll be doing this one again! Thank you RMT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Weak on the Old Bay flavor, and very strong on the vinegar. On the plus side, they were tender. Other than that, not much to recommend them, unless you're very fond of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Wonderful flavor. My family loved this and already asked about the leftovers. I did use 1/2 the amount of vinegar this recipe called for and also used double the Old Bay seasoning. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
These were just OK in my opinion. A little heavy on the vinegar. I did like the Old Bay, so I may try to make this again with less vinegar and somehow incorporate butter instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake In The Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Marinated chops while we were at work and grilled them when we got home. The chops were very tender. Was a bit concerned about the amount of vinegar called for. Though it tasted ok, will use a little less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States