Cheryl's Spinach Cheesy Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Really tasty! I will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This is a pretty good recipe. My husband said it tasted like "light lasagna". I did make some changes base on other reviewers' suggestions. First, I used penne noodles instead of shells. I thawed the frozen spinach for just 5 minutes by letting it sit on the counter, then sauteed it with minced garlic, parsley, Italian seasonings, and a dash of red pepper flakes. I mixed the bread crumbs with the olive oil and eggs before mixing with the noodles and spinach. For those who said the eggs and bread crumbs sounded odd, you do not taste them they just help to hold everything together. It may go without saying, but use a bowl with a lid to toss the ingredients around in... its much easy to just shake the bowl then to mix all the stuff together with a spoon. For the cheese, I used only 2/3 of the bag of chedder, and 1 and 1/4 bag of mozzerella. I also added 1/4 cup of parmesan. I covered the casserole with greased aluminum foil before putting in the oven and baked for 40 min. After the 40 min., I removed the aluminum foil and baked for an additional 10 minutes and then let it cool on the counter for 15 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY23315

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is a great, quick pasta recipe. Everybody I've served it to likes it, from my picky, younger siblings (who rarely eat spinach but don't mind it in this), to my parents with their refined palettes. Also, you can change up the flavors to suit your taste by using your favorite combination of pasta sauces (mine is garden vegetable) and cheeses (mine is 5 cheese Italian blend).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I changed this recipe as suggested by others and used double the recommended cheese. I topped with a sprinkling of parsley, basil, and oregano and baked about 35-40 minutes. I recommend topping with crushed red pepper flakes before serving. This dish was delicious. My boyfriend nearly ate all of it in one day. I will say that I probably wouldn't serve this as a main dish again. I think it would go nicely with italian sausage or meatballs and sauteed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Yum! I used the bigger seashell pasta shells. I only used 1 tblsp of olive oil & ended up using 2 jars of spaghetti sauce. Also, I only used about 1 cup of cheddar cheese and a little over 2 c of mozzarella (had a little left in one bag, so it went in). Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Doubled this recipe,used large shell pasta, added some cubed squash & extra cheese and spices, served with grilled lemon pepper chicken. Great dish! My family loved it and I will surely be making it again. Thanks for another favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Reyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Very good and easy! I substituted ricotta for the cheddar and it was a big hit with my family. My son even ate the spinach, and normally if there is anything green he won't touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimball, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Rated a 5+ by our three international students! Was it the pound of cheese? I would like to think it was the use of sauteed kale and mustard from our garden in lieu of frozen spinach. Tossed in a few black olives and mushrooms for good measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
The family enjoyed it very much, and it was quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
delicious! Added some browned ground turkey with a ton of garlic and onions... very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Skelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States