Cheryl's Spinach Cheesy Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This is awesome! I made this for a vegetarian potluck, and it was the star dish... I used rotini, as that was what I had on hand. I'm sure you can use any pasta with this. I also used fresh spinach that I sauteed in a bit of olive oil. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Like other reviewers, I think this is a really good starter recipe. I doubled the cheese and added a pound of ground chuck to round it out. My 14 year old gave it two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonoma cookin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
UPDATE: MY FRIEND & HER HUBBY LOVED THIS (MY FIANCE, NOT SO MUCH LOL)!!! This was "OK." To be fair, I must admit, I made a LOT of ch. Having said that, I do not believe they enhanced the end prod. As is, FBERLAGE's recipe is deserving of 3 *s (seemed very bland, hence the rating). Even w/ my "improvements," I would still give no more than 3 *s (sorry!). Here are my ch.: a) b/c I wanted to clear 2 (26) oz. cans of Hunt's pasta sauce from my pantry, I comb. what I had (trad. AND garlic & onion sauces) - & used BOTH cans (as opposed to 1 1/2 cans), b) I add. a ricotta layer (comb. 15 oz. ricotta, 1/4 c. 1/2-1/2, 1 1/2 c. Italian-blend cheese, 1/4 c. Parm, 1 t Italian seasoning, 1/2 t ea. s&p, 1 cloves minced garlic & a 10 oz. pkg. of thawed / drained spinach). I omitted the cheddar & used only Italian-blend cheese. I also used Italian-seasoned bread crumbs & 16 oz. of pasta (didn't see the point in wasting 4 oz. of a 16 oz. bag). I assembled everything in this order: sauce, noodle mix. (mix. as direct.), more sauce, ricotta, remaining noodles, rest of sauce & cheese. B/c I was delivering 1/2 to a friend, I divided = portions b/t 2 9 in. disposable pans. I baked my casserole, covered for 30 min. / uncovered for 15 min. Served w/ Dole's Autumn salad mix (yum!), garlic bread & cider, this was a nice fall meal. I still like my Pampered Chef stuffed shells recipe better, but I'm glad I gave this a try. Tx. FBERLAGE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
We really enjoyed this! I used cheese tortellini instead of regular noodles. We all called dibs on the leftovers! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This is a fantastic base to work from. I changed it a bit, but really appreciate the starting point. Because I got rave reviews, (even from my kid!) and my husband requested I write down what I did, I'll share my alterations here: I cut down the oil added to the pasta to 1 Tbsp. I had a ton of beets, so I used beet greens instead of spinach. I sautéed the greens with garlic, onion, and chopped bell pepper, in olive oil. Then, I added a chopped zucchini and a can of mushrooms, drained. Then, I grated a small beet into it all. Turned it red, but the sauce masked that. Plus, the beet couldn't be tasted at all! (I dig invisible nutrition, esp with kids!) Then, I cooked the pasta, and put some spaghetti sauce in the bottom of a baking dish, layered pasta mixture, then greens mixture, then breadcrumbs (which I didn't have so I made some with toast), sauce, cheese, then repeated, topping with cheese. Baked it about 30-40 minutes, until the cheese was good and browned. It was delicious! Just as we started eating it, my hubby and I put red pepper flakes on for a little spice. I'd love it if someone tried it the same way, and told me how they liked it! My kid said, halfway through eating, "I'm getting seconds, this is so good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Johnston

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Really tasty! I will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This is a pretty good recipe. My husband said it tasted like "light lasagna". I did make some changes base on other reviewers' suggestions. First, I used penne noodles instead of shells. I thawed the frozen spinach for just 5 minutes by letting it sit on the counter, then sauteed it with minced garlic, parsley, Italian seasonings, and a dash of red pepper flakes. I mixed the bread crumbs with the olive oil and eggs before mixing with the noodles and spinach. For those who said the eggs and bread crumbs sounded odd, you do not taste them they just help to hold everything together. It may go without saying, but use a bowl with a lid to toss the ingredients around in... its much easy to just shake the bowl then to mix all the stuff together with a spoon. For the cheese, I used only 2/3 of the bag of chedder, and 1 and 1/4 bag of mozzerella. I also added 1/4 cup of parmesan. I covered the casserole with greased aluminum foil before putting in the oven and baked for 40 min. After the 40 min., I removed the aluminum foil and baked for an additional 10 minutes and then let it cool on the counter for 15 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY23315

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is a great, quick pasta recipe. Everybody I've served it to likes it, from my picky, younger siblings (who rarely eat spinach but don't mind it in this), to my parents with their refined palettes. Also, you can change up the flavors to suit your taste by using your favorite combination of pasta sauces (mine is garden vegetable) and cheeses (mine is 5 cheese Italian blend).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I changed this recipe as suggested by others and used double the recommended cheese. I topped with a sprinkling of parsley, basil, and oregano and baked about 35-40 minutes. I recommend topping with crushed red pepper flakes before serving. This dish was delicious. My boyfriend nearly ate all of it in one day. I will say that I probably wouldn't serve this as a main dish again. I think it would go nicely with italian sausage or meatballs and sauteed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Yum! I used the bigger seashell pasta shells. I only used 1 tblsp of olive oil & ended up using 2 jars of spaghetti sauce. Also, I only used about 1 cup of cheddar cheese and a little over 2 c of mozzarella (had a little left in one bag, so it went in). Everyone loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States