Cheryl's Spinach Cheesy Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This will probably be a standard dish in my house when I'm too tired to cook. Super easy. Delicious, but unexciting. Something you can eat on a regular basis but wouldn't make for company or a potluck. I used zucchini instead of spinach, although I would have preferred spinach. (I didn't have any.) Also, I added cubed chicken to the top layer. (two breasts) I cooked it covered except the last 10 minutes. I only used mozzarella cheese and only one layer in the middle, not two. I omitted the cheddar cheese because that seemed to be too many flavors and too cheesy. I think I ended up with the perfect amount of cheesiness and probably used about 12 oz of just mozzarella. Some of my family topped their servings with fresh cilantro and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I made it and my family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren J. Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
This is edible, but so bland. I added garlic and italian seasoning but it didn't help much. I guess it depends on the pasta sauce you use, I used Muir Glen Organic Tomato Basil sauce. I don't think the sauce was the problem however. I think this just needs way more seasoning and definitely could have used more spinach. Would double next time. Artichokes would be good also. This recipe is a good starting point - but to make it good - it needs changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Use this recipe as a base & go from there. I used my own quick homemade sauce to cut back on sodium, etc. The sauce in itself was seasoned perfectly but when I used it for the recipe I found that it was not seasoned enough as indicated by others. Go heavier. I did lightly saute fresh spinach & even added garlic. I did NOT use all that cheese - maybe 1/2-2/3 of the amount called for. The cheese would only have added FAT - it would not have made a difference with taste. I added a little water to the can of tomatoes that I used & used that with the egg. I did not add the bread crumbs... combo of I forgot & didn't think it would add anything - I could be wrong. So.... go heavier on seasonings/spices because it has to go a long way. Oh... I used corkscrew pasta - good choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This recipe was great! I made a couple of changes. I added a pound of mild ground Italian sausage. Also, I used two 24 oz. jars of tomato basil garlic pasta sauce, one 16 oz. box medium shell pasta, and Italian bread crumbs. My husband loved this recipe! This definitely is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
really really good!! I didnt have quite enough pasta sauce, but it was still amazing! I didnt use all the cheese it required, because thats a lot of cheese! But my husband loved it, very filling! Good way to get your man to eat spinach:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katsie007

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
The picky watered ate it up...Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Used basic but added extra cheese and Habinero peppers(2)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Godon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
really easy recipe to make, and my very picky boyfriend loved it. i usually like to try stuff exactly as the recipe states the first time around, but since some reviews stated it can be kind of bland i did add 1 teaspoon each of the following: onion powder, garlic powder, and italian seasoning just in case. it tasted good but i'll definitely up the seasonings next time or perhaps try the recommendations to cook and season fresh spinach. will definitely make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
We tried this dish because it looked like a fast and easy supper, would be delicious and good for us. This recipe was all these things! I love incorporating spinach in pasta. My husband loves lots of tomato sauce. This dish satisfied both our preferences. It makes good use of foods that are probably already in one's pantry. It makes enough to serve quite a few people and, like all good recipes, is adaptable. There's no fussing making a sauce, good for a speedy dinner and this would be very kid friendly. I may take this to my next potluck! Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States