Cheryl's Spinach Cheesy Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Good starting point but i agree with other reviewers-needs more spices! I added 1 TB of Italian spice and 1 C fresh parmesan. Much better and kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Quick, yummy comfort food. I used about half as much cheese as the recipe called for and it was still nice and gooey. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I'll definately make this again! My kids (16 and 13 yrs) loved it. The only thing I changed is that I made it in two 8x8 pans, making only 1 layer in each (to share with a neighbor). Since it was only 1 layer deep, I didn't bake as long as recipe states. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I put this recipe in my box in 2003--I can't believe I waited 6 1/2 years to try it! It is very good--I did only use 12 oz. penne, 1/2 the amount of cheese (DH's diet), garlic and homemade Italian-style bread crumbs. The only reason I'm not giving it a 5 is that DH thought it wasn't spicy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This is awesome! I made this for a vegetarian potluck, and it was the star dish... I used rotini, as that was what I had on hand. I'm sure you can use any pasta with this. I also used fresh spinach that I sauteed in a bit of olive oil. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Like other reviewers, I think this is a really good starter recipe. I doubled the cheese and added a pound of ground chuck to round it out. My 14 year old gave it two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonoma cookin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
UPDATE: MY FRIEND & HER HUBBY LOVED THIS (MY FIANCE, NOT SO MUCH LOL)!!! This was "OK." To be fair, I must admit, I made a LOT of ch. Having said that, I do not believe they enhanced the end prod. As is, FBERLAGE's recipe is deserving of 3 *s (seemed very bland, hence the rating). Even w/ my "improvements," I would still give no more than 3 *s (sorry!). Here are my ch.: a) b/c I wanted to clear 2 (26) oz. cans of Hunt's pasta sauce from my pantry, I comb. what I had (trad. AND garlic & onion sauces) - & used BOTH cans (as opposed to 1 1/2 cans), b) I add. a ricotta layer (comb. 15 oz. ricotta, 1/4 c. 1/2-1/2, 1 1/2 c. Italian-blend cheese, 1/4 c. Parm, 1 t Italian seasoning, 1/2 t ea. s&p, 1 cloves minced garlic & a 10 oz. pkg. of thawed / drained spinach). I omitted the cheddar & used only Italian-blend cheese. I also used Italian-seasoned bread crumbs & 16 oz. of pasta (didn't see the point in wasting 4 oz. of a 16 oz. bag). I assembled everything in this order: sauce, noodle mix. (mix. as direct.), more sauce, ricotta, remaining noodles, rest of sauce & cheese. B/c I was delivering 1/2 to a friend, I divided = portions b/t 2 9 in. disposable pans. I baked my casserole, covered for 30 min. / uncovered for 15 min. Served w/ Dole's Autumn salad mix (yum!), garlic bread & cider, this was a nice fall meal. I still like my Pampered Chef stuffed shells recipe better, but I'm glad I gave this a try. Tx. FBERLAGE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
We really enjoyed this! I used cheese tortellini instead of regular noodles. We all called dibs on the leftovers! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This is a fantastic base to work from. I changed it a bit, but really appreciate the starting point. Because I got rave reviews, (even from my kid!) and my husband requested I write down what I did, I'll share my alterations here: I cut down the oil added to the pasta to 1 Tbsp. I had a ton of beets, so I used beet greens instead of spinach. I sautéed the greens with garlic, onion, and chopped bell pepper, in olive oil. Then, I added a chopped zucchini and a can of mushrooms, drained. Then, I grated a small beet into it all. Turned it red, but the sauce masked that. Plus, the beet couldn't be tasted at all! (I dig invisible nutrition, esp with kids!) Then, I cooked the pasta, and put some spaghetti sauce in the bottom of a baking dish, layered pasta mixture, then greens mixture, then breadcrumbs (which I didn't have so I made some with toast), sauce, cheese, then repeated, topping with cheese. Baked it about 30-40 minutes, until the cheese was good and browned. It was delicious! Just as we started eating it, my hubby and I put red pepper flakes on for a little spice. I'd love it if someone tried it the same way, and told me how they liked it! My kid said, halfway through eating, "I'm getting seconds, this is so good!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Johnston

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States