Cheryl's Spinach Cheesy Pasta Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was delicious! The taste was great. There are a couple of things that I would change. First, add a lot more cheese, and wait to add the cheese to the top until the last 15 minutes. When I pulled it out of the oven, the cheese had browned, and it was tough. Perhaps covering the dish prior to baking would change that. Also, add herbs and spices! Garlic would be awesome in this dish--fresh basil and some oregano would definately be good. You must try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This recipe was very good with the changes that I made. I first ommitted the egg and breadcrumbs, cause that just seemed kinda weird. I sauteed the spinach(water all squeezed out) with onion, garlic, pinch of dried oregano, and crushed red chili flakes, then added the sauce. I mixed it all with the shells, put it in a casserole dish and topped with mozzerella and parmesan cheese. And it was sooo delicous, I served it as a side dish along with breaded chicken. thanks for the recipe inspiration!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
This is a nice recipe to use as a base to be creative. I took another reviewers advice and used fresh spinach I got at the famers market, sauted it in olive oil, minced garlic salt and pepper. I drained the excess moisture. I also wanted to reduce the fat content. I used egg beaters and reduced fat mozzerella cheese. This was fabulous with some steamed carrots and fresh fruit salad. I will be making this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I was surprised this recipe got such good ratings because it is very bland. When I was making it I thought it was interesting that it had no seasonings in it, but I followed the recipe anyway. With some salt, pepper and Italian herbs, it livened it up after the act, but next time I would make sure to use a highly seasoned pasta sauce and/or seasoned bread crumbs, and maybe suate some garlic and onion to add to the mix before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
This was extremely tasty! Like an easier version of stuffed shells. To make the recipe a little less fattening, we added only 1 tablespoon of oil and filled the rest of the 1/4 cup in the recipe with skim milk. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Super easy and delicious- I agree with another reviewer's recommendation: use only 1 tb of oil with rest as skim milk - you don't miss the extra oil. Used Healthy Choice garlic Lover's sauce and added about 2 tsp of basil. I baked it covered and just removed the cover for the last 5-10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This pasta dish was very good. I used penne noodles instead of shells. Also, I added ground turkey, my husband has to have some kind of meat in his meals! Next time I'm going to add fresh sliced mushrooms. This is a good meal for a weeknight dinner, very easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
My husband loves meat - but when I cooked this recipe he didn't even notice there was no meat. So easy to prepare, so delicious, I even froze the leftovers and they were great a week later. Definitely will be used again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This casserole ended up tasting much more "Italian" than I had expected--kind of like a meatless lasagna. But my husband and I really liked it. I would add at least 50% more cheese. This casserole is very filling; the two of us could barely make a dent in it with just a salad as a side dish. The leftovers are great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
My family really liked this recipe. I made it when we were all sick; it's great comfort food! I halfed the recipe then followed a lot of previous user comments, including: (1) To the egg mixture, I added a teaspoon of dried basil, a teaspoon of onion powder, and a teaspoon of minced garlic, (2) I added cottage cheese to one of the cheese layers, (3) I used fresh spinach, and (4) I used a quarter of the cheese. I baked it in a 9x9 baking dish. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States