Cherry Winks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
My auntie Kay made these 50 yrs ago and there is nothing that reminds me of christmas more than the cherry wink cookies. I had lost my recipe a few years ago. Thank you they are sooooooo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is the classic cherry wink recipe which is staple in our home over the holidays. Another variation is to simply roll the dough in sugar instead of cereal. Although my mom would roll them in coconut upon occasion which is a personal favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
Really nice collection of nuts and fruit in each cookie. One of the best cherry wink recipes that I've tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
this recipe had been in my family for over 25 years and is a holiday standard! It has something in it for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This recipe was the grand prize winner in the 2nd (1950) Pillsbury Bake-Off, and has graced many a family's Christmas cookie tray for decades. It's wonderful to see it here for another generation to enjoy. Tried and true, it never fails to please. In reference to the complaint about maraschino cherries being too wet, there is a crucial omission from the recipe. The cherries must be drained before inclusion. Placing them in a single layer on about 3 thicknesses of paper towels for 30-60 minutes is sufficient. Over the years, we have morphed the recipe to using half almond extract in place of half of the vanilla, because it fortifies and underscores the flavor of the cherries. Cheerful and always festive, they'll disappear fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
It just isn't Christmas without these cookies. They are the first ones on my list eveyr year... I've tried making them without the dates and although they are still good...something about the dates makes a big difference and they seem to stay moist longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Like several other folks here, cherry winks have always been a part of our Christmas, and just the smell of them baking evokes wonderful memories of holidays past. Chilling the dough for a half-hour makes it much easier to work with. Thanks Sally, this recipe is just like my family's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
These are sooo good. Not to sweet, just right. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
A Christmas classic and tradition in this family. This is the EXACT recipe my mom has been cooking for the past 50 years and passed down to me. Perfect for that Christmas cookie tray especially when you use both red and green cherries. My only change (the only differance with moms recipe) Use half of a cherry on the top instead of a quarter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSRTBLND43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
My mom used to make Cherry Winks every Christmas and we loved them so much, they would be gone before Christmas Day and she would have to make more. She would use walnuts rather than pecans and they are still my all time favorite cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States