Cherry Winks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
Really nice collection of nuts and fruit in each cookie. One of the best cherry wink recipes that I've tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2001
this recipe had been in my family for over 25 years and is a holiday standard! It has something in it for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
My auntie Kay made these 50 yrs ago and there is nothing that reminds me of christmas more than the cherry wink cookies. I had lost my recipe a few years ago. Thank you they are sooooooo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
It just isn't Christmas without these cookies. They are the first ones on my list eveyr year... I've tried making them without the dates and although they are still good...something about the dates makes a big difference and they seem to stay moist longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Thank you! Thank you! Another case of the infamous lost recipe! I was SO happy to find this! Can't wait until time to get started on Christmas baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Keswick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Like several other folks here, cherry winks have always been a part of our Christmas, and just the smell of them baking evokes wonderful memories of holidays past. Chilling the dough for a half-hour makes it much easier to work with. Thanks Sally, this recipe is just like my family's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Awesome cookies, big hit at work! They were a little "putzy", but I think that makes them taste better in the end. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
My mom used to make Cherry Winks every Christmas and we loved them so much, they would be gone before Christmas Day and she would have to make more. She would use walnuts rather than pecans and they are still my all time favorite cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
A Christmas classic and tradition in this family. This is the EXACT recipe my mom has been cooking for the past 50 years and passed down to me. Perfect for that Christmas cookie tray especially when you use both red and green cherries. My only change (the only differance with moms recipe) Use half of a cherry on the top instead of a quarter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSRTBLND43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is the classic cherry wink recipe which is staple in our home over the holidays. Another variation is to simply roll the dough in sugar instead of cereal. Although my mom would roll them in coconut upon occasion which is a personal favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States