Cherry Winks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I made this cookie for a cookie swap party. They were a hit before I even got to take them out of the house to go to the party! No wonder it's a tradition! Maybe I'll make it a tradition at my home as well. I did find it important to add all the chopped cherries into the batter and maybe a bit more as well, otherwise the cookie isn't as sweet like a cookie should be, I coated them in powdered sugar to add a little more sweetness instead of messing with the dough, it ended up being a bit over the top sweet. So next time I will just add more Cherries to the mix and stick with either corn flakes or flaked coconut. The butter flavored Crisco was a good sub that I used as well. Have Fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This recipe has been passed down in my family for YEARS!!! It is now (and has been for a while) my job every year at Christmas to make these. I can't remember the last time we didn't have cherry winks at Christmas. They are the best cookies ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I loved these! I only ate 2 and that was hard to stop, but I packed up the rest and sent them to Iraq and they all loved them over there. Very fruits and tastey I was told :) Thanks for the great recipes!! It took a while for me to prepare because I had whole dates and whole almonds that I had to cut up and the cherries as well were whole so it was a lot of prep work but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I love these cookies.This recipe has been in the family for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARATHERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These cookies were good...but not GREAT. I will make these again, but will double the cherries. I thought they were a little bland, although they do have a pleasant after-taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This is a Pillsbury recipe from many years ago. I have the book !! I still make it every year and everyone just loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is the classic cherry wink recipe which is staple in our home over the holidays. Another variation is to simply roll the dough in sugar instead of cereal. Although my mom would roll them in coconut upon occasion which is a personal favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
A Christmas classic and tradition in this family. This is the EXACT recipe my mom has been cooking for the past 50 years and passed down to me. Perfect for that Christmas cookie tray especially when you use both red and green cherries. My only change (the only differance with moms recipe) Use half of a cherry on the top instead of a quarter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSRTBLND43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
My mom used to make Cherry Winks every Christmas and we loved them so much, they would be gone before Christmas Day and she would have to make more. She would use walnuts rather than pecans and they are still my all time favorite cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Awesome cookies, big hit at work! They were a little "putzy", but I think that makes them taste better in the end. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States