Cherry Winks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Tastes even better after sitting a couple of days. Makes a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
The dough was extremely sticky! There was no way I was able to roll them into balls. I had to use a cookie scoop then drop them into the crushed cornflakes and roll them around with a spoon. Personally I think the cookie is better without the corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
As I was growing up my mother made these every year at Christmas because they were my favorite cookie. When she passed away a few years ago I decided to remember her at Christmas by making cherry winks. Thank you for the delicious recipe and the wonderful memories they brought back to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Like many other comments, this was always on our cookie tray for Christmas. Mother always put in dark brown sugar also, so I added like 1/8 c. and when we rolled ( more fun for us kids then cutting up all those STICKY dates... oh the torture lol) the dough we kinda pressed the cornflakes in a bit. I was out of red cherries and only had the green so I didn't get to put any into my dough just on top. The cookies still came out great but I sure could tell they were not there. Also Kelloggs corn flakes are a must, they have the distinct flavor I always remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe has been added to my permanent Christmas must-haves....delicious, different and not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smksmk00

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
These are a favorite of mine around he holidays! I was very excited to find this recipe. I did have problems finding the dates, so I used dried ones and chopped them up in my bullet with the cherry juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
These were so good. I have only had store bought cherry winks before. They never had dates. I loved these cookies. They are flavorful and have a good texture. Even the people that don't like cherries or even fruits liked these cookies. I ran out of cereal, so I used graham cracker crumbs. I recommend it in a pinch. I still like the crunchy texture of the cereal better. I didn't have cornflakes so I used crispex. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Made these for a friend said she hadn't had em in years and they turned out great. Followed the recipe to exact except i had a lot of cherries and topped with a half instead of a quarter. Used parchment paper too and no trouble removing from pan. Great recipe it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Yummy! My family couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
These are sooo good. Not to sweet, just right. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katyellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States