Cherry Walnut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Great cookie bar for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I modified this to use fresh cherries and it's pretty awesome. Up the walnuts and the coconut to 1 cup each and add 2 cups of pitted cherries, quartered. I didn't frost them but if I did I'd use the juice from the fresh cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Toning down the sugars a bit in this recipe won't hurt it at all... Otherwise, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These are delicious. I used hazelnuts instead of the walnuts because that is what I had and I added more cherries. It didn't look like there would be enough frosting so I added more of the cherry juice to make it thin enough to drizzle, then sprinkled the top with more coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Wow, these were very yummy and I don't like cherries! I felt that the frosting was not enough so I tripled the ingredients and used a tablespoon of butter instead of a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Delicious! I make these every year at Christmas. It doesn't say in the directions but use just a little of the juice from the cherries in the icing instead of water and the icing turns out beautiful pink and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
These bars are fabulous! My mother used to make a recipe from the 1950s very much like this called Surprise Supreme. I put a thick butter icing on them instead of the cherry glaze! They bring back great memories - I'm in my 50s now - and still enjoy them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I used pecans instead of walnuts because I just like the taste better. The larger jar of maraschino cherries worked great. As for the icing. I used 2 Tablespoons of butter and 1 1/2 cups confectioners' sugar with the cherry juice. My mom introduced me to this recipe with the changes. This is positively one of the most delicious desserts I have had. We can't stop eating them. HELP! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Excellent bar cookie. Love the taste of the shortbread base combined with the cherry flavor. Family and friends loved this. It's a great holiday cookie! I've even made it for a Valentine's day party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This is a great cookie for Christmas. It makes alot like any bar cookie and the cherry glaze makes a beautiful presentation on the cookie tray. I like to put the glaze on while the bar arre just a little warm (cool about 25 minutes) that way the glaze really sinks in, don't worry it will setup as it continues to cool. Also finish off with a sprinkling of mini-choco chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States