Cherry Tomatoes Filled with Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were good...I did as most others suggested and mixed the goat cheese with some (fat-free) cream cheese. My grocery store was completely sold out of fresh basil the day I went, so I subbed some dried. I really enjoyed these and would definitely make them again, although they are a bit time consuming. I would probably think twice before making them for a large party or event, but a small quantity is totally manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I prepared these exactly as written and I thought the goat cheese with the fresh basil tasted pretty good, but then I added 2 fresh minced garlic cloves, and that's what it needed. Everybody really liked them which is a good thing since it took me forever to hollow out the cherry tomatoes and then stuff them. All in all, I'd definately make these again, I'd just make sure I have plenty of time and patience before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PMtz19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I just made this for a party but used the food processor to chop up walnuts and mash them into the goat cheese before filling. It was fabulous as the textures change up a bit and the walnuts are ever so subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina B in KC
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Good stuff! I took a tiny slice off the bottom so they would sit upright. I also added some roasted garlic to the mix and it was a little creamier. I put it in a ziplock, snipped the corner off and piped into the tomato cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina B in KC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liberal, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lake Waukomis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
The goat cheese has a strong flavor so I mixed it with plain cream cheese. They were pretty easy to make with very little mess to clean up, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Delicious if you love goat cheese, but they do take time. I did as others did and mixed the goat cheese with a little cream cheese to make it smoother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Served these for a tea party yesterday. I was a bit worried that my guests would not care much for them but they were the first thing to go. Obviously I will need to make more next time. Even with the tip from another reviewer to use a serrated grapefruit spoon hulling the tomatoes did take a bit of time (about 20 min for 30 tomatoes) but the serrated spoon worked great to not destroy the shape of the tender tomato. Used kitchen shears to snip the basil in tiny pieces without bruising. Also used tip to put cheese mix in ziploc and snip corner for easy filling - this part was a breeze. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I was expecting alot of work creating these little beauties, but I had some issues with the ingredients themselves. I had to add cream chese to the goat cheese which improved the texture tremendously. Before adding the cream cheese, the mixture was too brittle and crumbly to work with. I used prepared basil from a spice jar and found that approximately 2 tablespoons was more than enough or the mixture would have looked more black than white. I have never had a problem substituting basil from the spice jar for fresh basil before. Cutting and gutting the tomatoes did not actually require too much effort, but I found myself getting a bit short on patience with the stuffing procedure. This could be because I had these for an appetizer on Thanksgiving and I was a bit busy preparing the actual meal. I thought I had this covered as I did everything the night before except prepare the cheese mixture (easy) and stuff the tomatoes. I had some leftover goat cheese and this recipe was the perfect solution, but I would add the cream cheese again simply to improve the texture. For those who are budget-conscious, adding cream cheese is also an inexpensive way to stretch the amount of servings. This was not my intention, but the wonderful goat cheese flavor did not suffer at all. In the long run, these were quite tasty, but I don't think the taste was really worth the effort or the cost of goat cheese. I might make these again someday, but it won't be for awhile and not on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
These were a bit of work to put together (which is expected stuffing anything), but not fantastic in the end. The flavour is nice, but a bit bland even with the fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Used Humboldt Fog - top shelf goat cheese and it was good. Please not that most people (like me) who cannot eat dairy, have no problem wtih goat-milk products. Let's face it all you foodies, a key to good cooking is good ingredients. Have also made using dill in place of basil and have also used cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States