Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I halved broth as others recommended and found no need to puree tomatoes- just smashed them after they got tender. Also added roasted red peppers from a jar. I had Gruyere to use instead of parmesan. Absolutely no complaints on the substitution here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very good. We used linguine instead of penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by snosrf
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This was the best thing to do with cherry tomatoes. We had tons of them. I halved the chicken both as recommended. Added more garlic and fresh oregano. I also added some cooked chicken. Delicious ! I bet Chrissy eats it for breakfast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snosrf

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
4 stars as written, 5 with one modification - cut the chicken broth in half if not more. I heeded other reviews and made a double batch with only 2c broth ... I was worried it was a little too watery still, so I cooked my (fresh) pasta in it, and it was pretty much perfect. If you like a really thick sauce, I'd suggest cutting the broth back even further - you can always add more! The flavor, the ease - absolutely outstanding. AND, I have a great use for all the cherry tomatoes and oregano in my garden. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Delicious! I made this because I wanted to use up some of the cherry tomatoes from my garden. At first I wasn't pleased with how broth-like the sauce was but it is so tasty that it didn't matter. You could add some vegetables and make a great soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Four and a half stars, but not five. Wonderful flavour but the sauce was very thin. Maybe I'll try it with less than two cups of broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I've made the sauce twice in the last week to keep up with a bumper crop of cherry tomatoes. I doubled the sauce recipe the first time, tripled it the second. In the triple batch I added some fresh garlic and a can of tomato paste with Italian Herbs. I think this will freeze well. To reheat I added a little milk or Half and Half for a tomato cream sauce. It could also be served as a homemade tomato soup. The flavors really do blend well, and it takes very little effort to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Siek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I had loads of cherry toms over & made this very very simple sauce, it'a winner, many thank's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This was very easy and tasted good. I didn't have fresh oregano, so I used dried. Also, I reduced the pepper flakes for someone else in the house. There was still lots of thin sauce after stirring into the pasta for a few minutes, so next time I will use only 1.5 cups of chicken broth. I'm sure we'll be making this throughout the tomato season -- what a great way to use our cherry tomatoes and yellow pear tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States