Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This is SO good! It is thin but so what. One can thicken it up if desired. I'm drinking it like soup right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Very easy and tastes excellent. At first the sauce seemed too liquidy, as others mentioned, but it was perfect after pureeing the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I halved broth as others recommended and found no need to puree tomatoes- just smashed them after they got tender. Also added roasted red peppers from a jar. I had Gruyere to use instead of parmesan. Absolutely no complaints on the substitution here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very good. We used linguine instead of penne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by snosrf
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This was the best thing to do with cherry tomatoes. We had tons of them. I halved the chicken both as recommended. Added more garlic and fresh oregano. I also added some cooked chicken. Delicious ! I bet Chrissy eats it for breakfast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snosrf

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
4 stars as written, 5 with one modification - cut the chicken broth in half if not more. I heeded other reviews and made a double batch with only 2c broth ... I was worried it was a little too watery still, so I cooked my (fresh) pasta in it, and it was pretty much perfect. If you like a really thick sauce, I'd suggest cutting the broth back even further - you can always add more! The flavor, the ease - absolutely outstanding. AND, I have a great use for all the cherry tomatoes and oregano in my garden. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Delicious! I made this because I wanted to use up some of the cherry tomatoes from my garden. At first I wasn't pleased with how broth-like the sauce was but it is so tasty that it didn't matter. You could add some vegetables and make a great soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Four and a half stars, but not five. Wonderful flavour but the sauce was very thin. Maybe I'll try it with less than two cups of broth next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I've made the sauce twice in the last week to keep up with a bumper crop of cherry tomatoes. I doubled the sauce recipe the first time, tripled it the second. In the triple batch I added some fresh garlic and a can of tomato paste with Italian Herbs. I think this will freeze well. To reheat I added a little milk or Half and Half for a tomato cream sauce. It could also be served as a homemade tomato soup. The flavors really do blend well, and it takes very little effort to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Siek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I had loads of cherry toms over & made this very very simple sauce, it'a winner, many thank's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States