Cherry Surprises Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I have made these for many Christmas' but, once I have wrapped the Cocoanut mixture around the cherry, I roll the ball in graham cracker crumbs and refrigerate or freeze. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
My mother has made a similar recipe to this for years, but used 3lbs. 10X sugar, 1 stick margarine softened, 1 can Eagle Brand milk, 17 oz. bag coconut, 10 oz. maraschino cherries (chopped, drained, but save juice if you need to add a little at a time for the right consistency. No OJ in moms recipe. Mix, make into tight balls (10X sugar on your hands helps with stickiness) freeze in single layer on baking sheet covered with wax paper. Dip in chocolate using a tooth pick the next day. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go away

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
These did end up tasting like butter. I had even changed out the orange juice for rum. Thinking it would make it taste better. No such luck. Now I have a fridge full of butter flavor covered cherries....... Will not do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
My whole family loved these!! I took them to a party and they went fast. If you don't like cherries I wouldn't do it, but if you do, TRY them...you really will like them. Kind of reminded me of my dad's fruit salad in a candy form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Sabrina's recipe. Graham crumbs instead of coconut!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I made these for Christmas the first time I met my in-laws. My husband's family ate them up in less time than it took to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhoenixRising

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
The coating was a bit too sugary, but overall very good. I drizzled some chocolate on it for an added touch, turned out very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I didn't like these at all. It was sticky and just tasted like butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
not what I was looking for, I guess. More or less like eating a ball of butter and icing sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
These were so close, but a friend said that all she tasted was butter, and then that's all I could taste, too! So if you like the taste of butter ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States