Cherry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
What a great addition to any sweet tray. I add a little maraschino cherry juice instead of water in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
I made these yesterday and they are truly delicious and easy to make. Cutting them into bite size pieces is a great idea as they are very rich - but oh so yummy! I followed the suggestion to use cherry juice instead of water in the icing. I love the pretty pink color and extra cherry flavor. I also used almond extract instead of vanilla. I always add almond extract to a cherry pie and thought it would enhance the flavor here as well - and it did. I doubled the recipe, used a 9 x 13 pan and it came out just fine. I didn't double the icing as I thought a glaze was all that was needed on these rich and deicious bars. Thanks for a new holiday favorite, Karen!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suneelady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagler Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I often make tray bakes for sharing with colleagues when I have ingredients to use up. This was a huge success and I had four requests for the recipe. I used an jar of cherries in kirsch left over from Christmas, and made up the icing with the leftover kirsch/cherry liquid. If you make up the icing in the quantities specified, it just sinks into the cake, so use much more icing sugar (at least triple) if you like yours thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I made these cherry squares today and followed the recipe to the mark ( with the exception of the icing; I added the juice from the cherries in place of the water that was called for and added 3 diced cherries for visual interest ). These just didn't score very high with me or my husband. We found them far too sweet and they didn't have a very desirable texture. Although they did get some bonus points for ease of preparation! I will not make these again. Thanks for the idea though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deidrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
ok this looks and sounds good! but you said cherry frosting. the ingredients are confestioner sugar, butter and vanilla and water. where is the cherry frosting??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
These are *very* sweet, but I like things really sweet so I loved these bars. Nice and gooey (but not runny) in the middle, nice texture and the icing was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Very good, but very sweet. I usually have a little trouble with the baking time, as the middle layer doesn't set properly. I also use the cherry juice to make pink frosting. Very yummy, I've made these many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This was a wonderfully easy recipe anyone can do this... very delicious as well I just have to say I find them a bit runny I think I should mabye have left them in the oven longer and I had to triple the frosting recipe to cover my squares? I don't know what I did there haha.. but really terrific recipe thanks for sharing it was wonderful ... I made this today Christmas eve.. and they are lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
These are sweet, tasty treats. It was not as "cherry" tasting as I would have liked, but it is still good. I used maraschino cherry juice in place of the water in the frosting (to give it a little flavor and a nice pink color) and used about 2.5 T instead of the 1T called for in the recipe. Also-if you want this to stay pretty make sure you let it cool-otherwise you get an ooey gooey mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
I love this recipe.My husband thought they were the best squares ever.It was VERY easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States