Cherry Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Delicious! I made small changes by using almond extract instead of vanilla in the icing mixture, and pecans instead of walnuts in the batter. Also added a little pink food colouring in the icing. So good! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Many reviewers said these squares were very sweet and since we're not a family who really gets into things that are "too sweet," I did cut back the brown sugar in the filling to less than 1 cup. I used an 8x8 pan, so I did cook them longer, but the texture turned out fine, and you could eat them with your fingers. You won't get a clean cut on these like you do on a lemon bar, for example, but that was OK with me. The bottom layer tastes like a rich shortbread cookie, and the filling was very moist. To get a nice frosting on the top, you may want to make extra icing, as I really didn't have quite enough even for my 8x8 pan. By all means, do cut into small pieces because they are decadent (and filling).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This is a very tasty/sweet treat to add to the 'traditional' holiday cookies and tarts. I used the cherry juice in place of water in the icing as per a review and it finished off the squares well. I got alot of compliments and know that I will make this a part of my holiday baking from now on. Delicious! Thank you Karen!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made these for my sister’s birthday because they sounded yummy. I followed another’s advice and cut back on the sugar and cooked it a little longer. We agreed that they were way too sweet and they were gushy/runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
These are *very* sweet, but I like things really sweet so I loved these bars. Nice and gooey (but not runny) in the middle, nice texture and the icing was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Very good, but very sweet. I usually have a little trouble with the baking time, as the middle layer doesn't set properly. I also use the cherry juice to make pink frosting. Very yummy, I've made these many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I didn't make this, but my coworker did. These were a gooey sticky fun treat! Nice and sweet - perfect with tea. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
These bars were OK (WAY too sweet). I wasn't crazy about them.... I made a batch to take to a friend's Christmas party, and everyone seemed to like them (everyone that I talked to...). I had a lot left though, so I don't know how many people REALLY liked them. There were a LOT of sweets to choose from, so that could be the reason.... If I make these again, I'll omit the nuts alltogether (I don't care for them and they seemed out of place here) and spread with the frosting called for (I decided to omit the frosting layer for time's sake). You really need to watch these. Mine were pretty brown when they came out of the oven. These bars are tricky to cut because they are so sticky... Perhaps running your knife under water would solve this problem??? Thanks for sharing. I'll try the recipe for cherry bars in my L&T cookbook instead....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I often make tray bakes for sharing with colleagues when I have ingredients to use up. This was a huge success and I had four requests for the recipe. I used an jar of cherries in kirsch left over from Christmas, and made up the icing with the leftover kirsch/cherry liquid. If you make up the icing in the quantities specified, it just sinks into the cake, so use much more icing sugar (at least triple) if you like yours thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I made these cherry squares today and followed the recipe to the mark ( with the exception of the icing; I added the juice from the cherries in place of the water that was called for and added 3 diced cherries for visual interest ). These just didn't score very high with me or my husband. We found them far too sweet and they didn't have a very desirable texture. Although they did get some bonus points for ease of preparation! I will not make these again. Thanks for the idea though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deidrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

How to Make Cherry Clafouti

See how to make a custardy dessert with fresh cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States